Open Mic Week 41 : Woke Up This Morning, Got Myself A Gun… My 1st Official…steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Open Mic Week 41 : Okay, so yeah, I can be a bit of a wise-guy at times, especially after a glass of wine or two… Beyond that, I’m pretty much your quintessential “ordinary average guy”… (Yes, I love me some Joe Walsh too.)

I’m more or less confined to a self-imposed “house arrest” of sorts, and for all intent and purpose; I can easily be grouped into the wise-guy “witness protection program” category – and no one would be the wiser. ;)

That said, with all intended humor and levity in mind – (and aside,) this is my 1st “OFFICIAL” entry on open Mic – not that it means that much to me, or that it means that much to you – but it’s my first “OFFICIAL” entry nonetheless… It is so, simply because it’s “live,” and/or that I say “Open Mic #etc…”

In truth, I’m quite humbled by all of the brilliant talent here on the open-mic platform. I am very privileged to be able to contribute what little I can. I’m just doin’ my thing here, - encouraging others, doing the best that I can with what I’ve got, passing the time, and having some fun …

Here I am going through a first take while in the process of learning to play a brand new song for a future/forthcoming production thereof.


When it’s done, I’ll drop it as another one of my infamous unofficial entries sometime in the future.

To all my fellow Steemian Musicians who labor tirelessly in the name of love for music – thank you for doing what you do! I so appreciate all of your artistic efforts and talent!

And last but not least, thank you @pfunk & @luzcypher for making this all possible… PEACE, LOVE, & JUSTICE for ALL…
open mic 41.png

Sort:  

Don't know how this landed here but I'm glad it did... This girl is adorable. She plays guitar well, and has a really sweet voice and personality. Thanks for sharing!

Great song :)

Until you took your shades off I would have sworn you were Tom Waits.

Sounds great man. I love that song. Did you know it was the first song that Mick Jagger and Keith Richards wrote? First recorded by Marian Faithful.

By the way, my favorite Tom Waits quote:

Sometimes late at night when I've been drinking I use parking meters as walking sticks.

Thank you @luzcypher ! Indeed I do know that... In fact, the two of them were literally locked in a kitchen and were not allowed out until they wrote a song, and that's what they came up with... They gave it to Marian because they didn't think it was cool enough at the time... Thanks again brotha !

You are soooooo much fun! I need to up my game :). Or at least fix my warping videos! Thanks for sharing :)

You are too kind Kay... I think all these votes I got was some sort of glitch in the system... If anyone needs to up their game, it would be your's truly.... :) Thank you...

Ha ha, for heaven's sake, why don't you just make a happy man feel very old... 😂😂😂. I am 64 and I that was one of the first songs I ever learned on the guitar - 52 damn years ago! 😕 Great to hear it again young man. Nice one. 👏👏

p.s. The other was Tom Paxton's "Last Thing On My Mind"

Ha! and to think that I thought that I was the old man on the block... Glad it brought back some happy memories for you as it did me - even though you're about 6-years ahead of this old heap of human matter.... Thanks man!

Congratulations @passion-ground! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good job mate... keep the music alive.... Peace and love....

Congratulations on your first 'official' open mic entry :)

This was very cool Brother. I especially liked the wine intro followed by the room darkened removal. You've made me think about trying this tune as well. Great job!

Thank you @brimax glad you like the subtle nuances... It's a fun song to learn - I'm sure you'll nail better than I did... Almost finished recording the final production version... I got a lot better at picking through the whole thing with several tracks to get Richards 12-string effect without having to spring for one (ha!)... Thanks again Brother Bri!

Thank you Brother. I'm looking forward to your final production version!

Good stuff, glad to see it! I almost missed it though because my dodgy software expects to see a 41 in the title too, so you aren't on my report page! ;) I know... even more bureaucracy!

Ha!.... oops my bad... Thanks Andy :) just fixed it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64151.19
ETH 2773.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65