Steemit Open Mic Week 137 (Saxer, Prelude in D major)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic5 years ago

This is my entry for the Steemit Openmic Contest, week 137.

For the Secrets of organ playing contest (week 19) I experimented with an extra camera for the feet. As I wrote in that post (https://steemit.com/secretsoforganplaying/@partitura/ernst-friedrich-richter-fuga-a-moll) the thing that people who are not familiar with organ music probably find the most intruiging is the fact that you play with the feet as well with the hands. As this contest perhaps attracks people who are not familiar with organ music at all, I thought it a good idea to record my feet for the open mic contest as well.

For me it takes a lot of practice to get the coordination between hands and feet correct. And in pieces like this, one is often too busy with the hands to have a look at the feet. So part of the practice is to make sure the feet know their way around the pedal board blindly. In the video you see me sometimes shoot a quick glance at the feet ("are in they in the right position? Yep? Okay, eyes back on the score because I have no idea what notes come next...."), for the rest, they are on their own. Needless to say, it took me several takes, before I had a performance I was more or less satisfied with.

The recording was done with the Hauptwerk software and the sampleset, made by Voxus, of the Matthijs van Deventer-orgel in the Grote Kerk, Nijkerk (https://www.voxusorgans.com/en/product/nijkerk).

If you're interested, the score of this piece is available on my website: http://partitura.org/index.php/georg-wilhelm-saxer-praludium-und-fuge-d-dur-2/

Sort:  

Thank you partitura! You've just received an upvote of 26% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

With great power, comes great responsibility.

Thank you for sharing your great work with us!
Your post has been upvoted an resteemed manually by WiMusic (@pasle). Your Steemit Music Source.

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

people who are not familiar with organ music probably find the most intriguing is the fact that you play with the feet as well with the hands

It is amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64