Steemit Openmic-Week 60-Original Song-Fair LilysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

A remembrance for my little girl...my first try at some video picture-in-picture so forgive me my basic skills. If you're not a dog person look away !

The song pretty much says it all; she literally came out of nowhere and was the greatest gift I have ever received. Lily had a long life and was probably about 17 when she died. Even in the early days I knew that I was the luckiest person because I got to be with her; we had many many adventures together.
The night before she left her body, I stood watching the sunset and this song began playing in my head...I heard it as an Irish ballad. After a few months I went back and had to "find" it on the guitar. It has been a few years now, but it is still hard to think about her ... I finally decided to try to share this song; it took some time to make it all the way through but I got this take.
A dedication to Lily's mom who is watching this somewhere...I know that she misses our girl just as much as I do...

She came from the forest
All skin and bones just
Frightened and alone
And we with no child of our own
Took her in
And from then
We all had a home

The joy and the tears
The wonderful years
Ah, the stories we'd tell
And for you it was me that fell
You're my miracle, girl
Fair Lily farewell

And if there's a heaven
I know that's where you are
I'm not fearing to die
If I'll be by your side
My good Lily
Goodbye

Sort:  

steemit_open_mic_third_place_winner.png

Click the image to go to the post

Incredible performance. Really great job dude. I'm guessing you're open-tuned there? The sound you're getting out of your guitar is so beautiful, haunting, melancholic....

Hey thanks I'm glad you like it...yeah the tuning is open D but I always tune my guitars down 2 steps to begin with, so I guess it must be open C. peace

Open C. Aggressive. I like it.

This is so beautiful!

Alright man, so you just totally wrecked me with this - you know that, right? I'm a big pile of heaping fucking tears right now - ... Beautiful dedication to our most loyal, and very best friends - I love it, brother!

Ha ha gotcha ! I can't believe I made it through a take all the way...still grieve for her every day. peace

That you did, friend... You wait, I'm gonna getcha back! Ha-haaa!!

that touched a string in my soul, feeling pressure on my chest, and tears behind my eyes. It brought back my memorys from long ago when i had my dark Rakker. Thx for sharing ! And a big cuddle my cuddles are known for being long and healing i just hope it works like that over the net as well ...

Wow so far that makes one hug and one cuddle for this song ...Thank you for listening, I'll take all the love I can get !

It is a beautiful song... i am so sorry you are grieving man. I send you a hug from here <3

Hug accepted...thanks

you are very welcome! ;)

This is a very touching song @onetruebrother. You have such an excellent sound, and I dig the harmonics too. Beautiful work man.

Thanks man, I dig your To the Moon song (anyone reading this should go check it out @the-vile-maxim)

Man i miss that hound dog. Great job bro brought a tear to my eye ...

I had a dream a while ago that she was licking my face; I woke up and found I was crying in my sleep

that was wonderful that was a great story and beautiful tribute song to the past, just gorgeous singing and playing tops

Thanks...I was worried that including the photos might be over the top, but really that was for Lily's mom. Normally I'd rather leave it to the listener to visualize the story...peace to you

This is a beautiful performance. Sounds so good.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thank you sir...it is an unexpected pleasure to share some of these songs. You have done a great thing here...all the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58720.84
ETH 3088.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41