You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 46: J. S. Bach BWV 996 Gigue

in #openmic7 years ago

hahaha, thanks a bunch Geoff! The mistake count that I'd be able to smooth out over a week or two was up to 7 or ten, but I count how I play a note as well as whether or not I played it. There's a couple muted notes or misplays I don't count, but that's because they were too insignificant and any live performance will have those. We do what's called slow playing and starting from a measure or two before a tough spot to perform the riff exactly as written a few hundred times to work out kinks. You'd be surprised how quickly that can have a significant effect on your playing. It may be obvious to some people, but I didn't start using it until this year, and I've been playing for 15.

Sort:  

Only 15... smartass! 😂 There are not enough years left in me to smooth out the "kinks" in most of my pieces. 😏

Just read your comment on my offering this week, thanks man, much appreciated.

hahaha! Seriously though, it only took me that long to get good enough to actually play it because I slacked off on my theory until recently. Once you start doing the work it takes far less time.

Cheers! Yeah, you play the pedal steel reaeaaly well! so smooth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61