Steemit Open Mic Week 46: J. S. Bach BWV 996 Gigue

in #openmic7 years ago

This is easily the most difficult piece I've played for the open mic so far. Please forgive the mistakes, I plan on doing this again when I've gotten a bit better at it.

Sort:  

Hell yea buddy. Satin himself can't touch this shit.

Great skills as always! Thank you!

thanks!

Always look forward to my weekly dose of the classical "Oliver." BRAVO!!!

WOW!
I Loved it.
Beautiful Peice @oliverwaterman!

You Got a New Follower.
will check out your other posts too.

Maybe I can use your work and make some kind of Drum Fusion.

Do check out my First post:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@iamgenius/happy-birthday-to-me

Do share your Feedback.
Your Support is what I need!

Thank You for this Post!

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it! Good job on your first post too! I'm not really interested in collaborations on steemit presently, but thank you for asking. There are tons of super talented people on here who may be more interested in a virtual collab. Check out @nicklovesdrums while your at it, he does similar productions to your first post for the open mic run by @luzcypher. If you enter this info-graphic will assure you qualify for the prizes of the contest.

20884834_10212098942001921_2127322710_n.jpg

Awesome man! Sounds great

How does this guy just keep killing it?

he's just that awesome!

hahaha, appreciated buddy

Buena ejecución del instrumento.

Wow, fantastic. How long did it take you to master that? Upped and resteemed :)

Thanks! I've been playing it off an on for about 13 years. This is definitely the strongest I've had it for a while, I'd say I still have a ways to go before it's mastered though.

You sir are a wizard on six strings. I was playing this while my wife was washing dishes, and she turned around and was flabergasted that one person was making the music (she assumed it was a duet). This is a wonderful piece, I really like the way the counterpart melody entwines around the main melody. There is an old saying in show business to never apologize, and that is definitely true here in this case - you have nothing to ask for forgiveness for. Really enjoyable watching you play, I could sit here and watch you play all day long. Seriously. You kick ass.

Thanks! I'm glad you and your wife liked it! Sorry for being sorry. I'm more of a wizard than a showman, after all that's what I'm going to school for. Classical music, not Hogwarts school of wizard music. hahaha, oh boy, I just woke up if you can't tell. Anyway, thanks a bunch, and stay tuned. I post something wizardy every week!

LOL yeah I guess classical music is pretty much wizardry in this day and age, unless you are playing in a forbidden mode and it is deviltry

Hey I actually got around to entering the open mic this week and although the guitar playing is just chord strumming, I would be honored if you gave it a listen :)

awesome! I'll check it out!

👏👏👏👏👏 Encore maestro!

Well, as my family will testify, it is not often I am left bereft of words!

Sorry, I just had to take a moment there. That was stunning Oliver, simply stunning. I wonder what it's like to have such an ability. IMHO being able to carefully disguise an extra finger or two on your left hand is a remarkable talent in itself. 😉 Seriously though, that was beautiful playing and I am sure any mistakes will be exagerated in your own mind. It was (they were? I only noticed 1) insignificant to me and did not detract in any way from a truly delightful performance.

N.B. My power of speech appears to have been restored! 😊

hahaha, thanks a bunch Geoff! The mistake count that I'd be able to smooth out over a week or two was up to 7 or ten, but I count how I play a note as well as whether or not I played it. There's a couple muted notes or misplays I don't count, but that's because they were too insignificant and any live performance will have those. We do what's called slow playing and starting from a measure or two before a tough spot to perform the riff exactly as written a few hundred times to work out kinks. You'd be surprised how quickly that can have a significant effect on your playing. It may be obvious to some people, but I didn't start using it until this year, and I've been playing for 15.

Only 15... smartass! 😂 There are not enough years left in me to smooth out the "kinks" in most of my pieces. 😏

Just read your comment on my offering this week, thanks man, much appreciated.

hahaha! Seriously though, it only took me that long to get good enough to actually play it because I slacked off on my theory until recently. Once you start doing the work it takes far less time.

Cheers! Yeah, you play the pedal steel reaeaaly well! so smooth

Woww thats amazing dude!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87