STEEMIT Open Mic Week 44 - "Peaceful Night, Working Mind" (ORIGINAL SONG)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hello world!

This is my original composition called “Peaceful Night, Working Mind”.

pnwm_om44.jpg

Behind the scenes

Lately I have been busy, working on some projects, my bachelor thesis, studying … This composition was written on one of those working nights (3am), when the whole town is sleeping, you are in a peaceful room with your mind working on 1000% in order to finish the important tasks that are piling up. The melody/harmony is a little bit heavier than usual, since I tried my best to translate my “working mind” to music.

This song also features an improvised ambient drum solo, which the guitar later accompanies. All instruments were written and recorded by yours truly.

Video

I would also like to thank again @pfunk and @luzcypher for making and contributing to this beautiful contest! I totally admire you guys, for the time spent shaping and bringing this artistic community together! Props!

Thank you for watching!

Peace and Love,
Nick J.

Sort:  

Great track. Who are your influences? I can hear John Williams (Mahavishnu Orchestra) in there but maybe that's just me. Also love the kit sound.

@steelygeoff, I'm guessing that you are you a serious fan of Steely Dan. So am I, and Donald Fagen's solo work too!!!

Thank you! If I am honest, I don't really know who influenced me when I was writing this tune. But at the time of composing this tune, I was listening to a lot of different contemporary jazz artists so this was more influenced from the whole genre than from one particular artist. I do know about Mahavishnu Orchestra (my sister has a Mahavishnu & John McLaughlin vinyl). Thanks for watching! :)

Thanks for playing Steemit Open Mic.

Thank goes to you! :)

Hi Nick! I just found this post by way of doing a search on "contemporary jazz". I'm new to Steemit and just recently discovered all of the Jazz available here! It is awesome! As a long time Jazz lover, of all types, I really enjoyed your original composition. I look forward to hearing more of your music in the future. I'm now following and upvoting you. Thanks for sharing your talent and your music with the world Nick!

Thank you for sharing your music!
Please listen to my music if you can.

Sorry, I know you did.

Thanks for the upvote! You are a good musician, I upvoted you back :)

woow dude, amazing composition! keep on doing a great work hope you finally win this weeks open mic ;)

Thanks man! :) And don't forget: It's not about winning and losing. It's about every day hard work and about thriving on a challenge.

thanks for reminding me dude! I found out that consistency is key to success on social media network and Steemit is no different!

Really nice track and you perfom both instruments to perfection. Well done again Nick!

Thank you man! Loved your this week's performance :)

nice post follow me i will follow you back

Nicely done- Im envious of those guitar skills ;) I won't even touch the drums, as it would come across as spaghetti arms banging on pots and pans.

For real though, good song! I'm following 👍🏻

Thank you Kate for the nice comment! Keep on playing, followed back! :)

Anytime, appreciate the follow as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69