You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OFFICIAL: Open-Mic | @passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 88

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Mate!!! Thanks so much for those words of veracity and incredibly beautiful compliments! I’m deeply touched!


I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to reply here. I’ve just been kinda in and out of Steemit this last week. Lots of offline things have been needing my attention, (and my attention has been really foggy with a head cold so progress has been sloooooooooow)..

You know, it’s so great to see a judge acknowledge this actually.
It was clear to me very early on (& in truth, i only started entering Open Mic in February in week 73, I think, and I came 1st place for the first time just last week, week 87. Woohoo!) that there would need to be a kind of ‘scooping up’ of the broader community into the top 5 and honourable mentions so they don’t feel like it would be impossible to place if the COTC, as you dubbed us, aren’t pushed aside to make space. I even took a 6 week break from entering, largely in order to provide some of that space.
With that in mind, I do think it’s important for you, and possibly the other judges too, to acknowledge it, otherwise newbie entrants might also think things like, “well if such and such (CTOC) couldn’t even get a place or an honourable mention, then what hope do I have?!” In fact, that specific thing has been conveyed to me a couple of times, which is why you mentioning this in such a graceful, beautiful way as you’ve done here is really important.
Thank you so so much for that.

I just wrote this in the comments of @breakoutthecrazy’s comment and it’s important to reiterate:

This is the highest desire of my creations - for the audience/listeners (including judges) to drop the finger off their trackpad for a few minutes or so and really absorb what is being shared and conveyed. I don’t say that as an expectation though, because I know how much the judges have to sift through, but i do know that the several minutes I commit to tape (figuratively speaking) are really the culmination of tens of thousands of hours of hard work, spanning decades, all condensed down into those few minutes.
Those that are nascent may or may not really understand that yet, but they will when they get to my age and have been intensely grinding away for so so long.

And yes, of course, the so-called COTC can share the limelight. Haha! Woohoo!
You freakin’ rock dude!
Much love and blessings to you @passion-ground!

And awesome selections to, by the way!
Wowsers!

Sort:  

Thank you for such a kind and insightful comment, Nathan. I began a more thorough reply but decided it was way too long, so I'm going to make a root post of it. Keep an eye out for it, mate! Thanks again and much love in kind!

Sweet! Awesome!
That actually happened to me with my thank you reply for winning open mic week 87. Initially it was just a reply and ended up so long that it deserved its own post, which, as it turns out, is a vastly better way of saying thank you.

Well, I look forward to your post, mate!
Blessings and happy vibes to you!
Thanks for all your hard work in the community!

Here it is bro... took me all damn day and night - so I hope you can appreciate it for what it is... .x https://steemit.com/openmic/@passion-ground/a-judges-reply-to-nathan-kaye-and-the-entire-open-mic-community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72