OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week 1 + Steemit openmic week 61: Broken Mirror (original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

My entry for the Open Mic Songwriters Challenge Week 1  and Steemit Openmic Week 61

I just found out about @luzcypher 's post 3 hours ago (i.e. on Saturday 10PM), Tomorrow I am working from 10AM to 10PM, and Monday is a big day too. But Monday is also the deadline for the songwriter challenge!

Only solution, do it now! so I gave it a shot and here is the result. 

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did composing and playing it! 


Lyrics: Broken Mirror

Every time it shows like a broken mirror,
when I see your face in my memories.
Each time my eyes close, the bitter piece of sugar
that is your embrace lives in my reveries.

I held your hand, I guided you every step of the way.
You made me understand the value of loving everyday.
I looked in our mirror: such a feeling of forever,
Sharing our lives together.
But you tripped and the mirror cracked

Every time it shows like a broken mirror,
when I see your face in my memories.
Each time my eyes close, the bitter piece of sugar
that is your embrace lives in my reveries.

I smelt your lies coming deep from within.
Then I saw you kissing him.
That day my dreams fell like a rock,
breaking the mirror of us forever together.

Every time it shows like a broken mirror,
when I see your face in my memories.
Each time my eyes close, the bitter piece of sugar
that is your embrace lives in my reveries.

Like a broken mirror…



Background of picture and elements used to build frieze: Pixabay.com

Hi,
I’m @muphy, My life revolves around music production, teaching sciences, and discovery through travel.
You enjoyed that post?    Resteem and Upvote!
You are interested in these topics?    Follow me!

 

Sort:  

"Wow" What an amazing, beautiful song. I hope you win. I'm also a singer songwriter ( just as a hobby) I've made a few home recordings. I might put the link on my blog one day. Please keep writing music you have a real talent. I'm not sure what the contest is you are talking about, (I'm new to steemit,) but it sounds interesting.

Hello What is life. Thank you for your kind words.
You should definitely try the openmic contest. It is a lot of fun and you realise that you are not alone! There are many very talented people in this community.

For the contests, check @luzcypher 's blog (Luzcypher is the organiser):

The songwriter contest is new (first week): https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/open-mic-songwriters-challenge-week-1-broken-mirrors

The openmic contest has been going on for more than a year, every week (impressive):
https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-61-record-your-performance-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

Have fun!

ouch. 'the bitter piece of sugar that is your embrace'
damn dude. Of all the entries so far, this is the one that gave me a little pain in my heart. x

Thank you for telling me @basilmarples !
Your reaction is exactly what I am aiming for when I write this type of songs: reading your words made my day!

me and my wife and sister listened to it quite a few times! I had it stuck in my head for hours! its a great tune :)

Really good! loved it .. So sad ... but really really good. How long did it take you to write it?

Thank you Katherine. About 45 minutes for lyrics and chords...

Songwriter challenge, well that's exactly what it was: I discovered the post Saturday around 10PM and knew that if I didn't submit that same evening, I would not be able to make the deadline.

So I picked up my guitar. 10:45, the song was written. 11:15, Lamp, tablet camera, recorder was set up. Takes up to 12:15 (poor neighbors... that's actually why I did a soft song). Then, sound syncing + making the video: 1:00 AM. and finally uploading, posting, describing. At 1:45 I could go to bed !

The pressure was inspiring: I definitely am going to submit again to the songwriters challenge!

ohh haha! "poor neighbors" lol!

I am so glad that you did. And yes! i am loving this challenge too! i am pushing myself to do things i haven't done.. and it is very inspiring! lets see how we do for all the other themes.. haha.. i am not very good under pressure ... not with music at least lol

man... I'm with basil... that line stabbed me in the feels...

the bitter piece of sugar that is your embrace....

thank you for participating muphy... thank you for sharing...

It's me thanking you for making us all meet. Such an amazing group of musicians from all around the world. I didn't expect this when I joined Steemit last month!

Sounds really good and thank you for entering. Please edit your post to include the lyrics as it says in the rules to the challenge. Thank you.

  • Lyrics must be included in your post

Done @Luzcypher. I was actually doing this when you commented.
Thanks for the reminder!

Cool and thank you.

Love the way you put the extra effort into visually transposing the lyrics within your submission, @muphy... This is a rather solid entry, my friend! Good job!

Thank you @passion-ground.
I am a aware that sometimes my pronunciation is not the best when I sing, especially when the song is 1 hour old! Adding written lyrics allows me to convey better what I wish to express :-)
I am glad you enjoyed it.

awesome, love your song sir..

Thank you! I am glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68781.96
ETH 3736.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73