Steemit Open Mic Week retraction

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

I have retracted my entry this week, as this is the 5th week in a row I have recieved just over $1 for my efforts.

People may think that im not understanding what this contest is all about, however, those very same people also don't realise how much money and effort I am spending to make my entries as entertaining as possible for the community.

It costs me nearly £25 to travel to the location where I record my entries. This place is a historic church building, with an incredible vintage 1850s grand piano. Now, it's my choice to come here to record and share with you my passions and talents, however, i am not made of money and over the last 5 weeks of entries, I have recieved about $7 in total of upvotes.

The open mic contest was the favourite of places to be apart of as it's filled with interesting talents and passionate people. From when I first started to about 6 weeks ago, there was momentum building in my posts and it was making me feel that i was actually building up a true following and people were really starting to appreciate and acknowledge my passions and talents. I managed to build up to my biggest of post upvotes that reached over $120 and ibwas getting really excited for what the future prospects of sharing my content would bring.

However, since that $120 post, the following 5 weeks of entries has been abysmal, as I have literally recieved around $7/8 for 5 weeks of entries combined. This simply is no where near enough to make me want to continue sharing my content and is a shame as I was really enjoying being part of this open mic community.

But never winning, or being seen in the judges eyes as good enough to ever be featured and having such a poor return of upvotes for amount of efforts I put in to make sure I can entertain the community and even inspire in some sense, not to mention that the prizes have continued to dwindle down and to be honest, is just not worth the efforts right now.

I will come back for one more entry next week and hopefully more people will take notice of my efforts, but if not, then I'm afraid im just going to have to call it a day with this contest.

Hopefully people can understand my stance and views, if not then I guess they will hate me or have lost respect for me in some way. Really tho is anything I believe people should have more respect for sharing my true honest opinion of how this contest is making me feel.

Sort:  

Just so you know, your posts from entering Open Mic earn about the average rewards for entering of about 2 SBD.

The reason your earlier posts earned more was because those posts were upvoted my @curie, a project that helps people get established on Steemit for good content. They ony do that for people wil a rep under 50, I think it's 50 anyway.

Once your rep is above 50 they don't curate you anymore.

In any case, I just want you to know that I have been upvoting all your posts when you enter and have been enjoying your music. I respect you feel you need to move on and wish you the best. Speaking for myself, I will be missing your performances.

Well, as much as I respect your choice. There is one slight inaccuracy on here I feel compelled to correct. You got an honorable mention from me last week.

I realize that does not mean $120 SBD payout, but It's also not something that connects with the idea that none of the judges care about your entries.

However, I will say, and I say this with as much respect as I possibly can. I do believe that spending $25 per trip to a church to record entries is not a good plan. Regardless of the quality of the piano or the acoustics of the place.

In this place nothing is guaranteed to us, and how could it be? the vast majority of the Steem Power is concentrated at the top. I will be specific because I know that you are smart and that you will get this quickly.

My full upvote can give someone 14, 15 cents. Lets say all judges, all six of us upvote a post 100% we may be able to get it to $3 SBD.

Now, its unreasonable, unrealistic and unfair that we would even attempt to do that, because midway through we would run out of Voting Power and leave at this point hundreds of accounts with 0.02 or less.

This is to say, the soup (if you entertain my analogy ) has more liquid than meat, but we do our best to make sure everyone gets at least a small bowl.

You might not like what I'm about to say, you might even react in anger to my words, but I don't mean them with any ill intent.

It's hard for people to sympathize with this type of post/plea, to some, those who are also participating of this uphill climb, might think you are not acting in your own best interest and they might be quick to dismiss you all together.

As you read my words, picture a man who is smiling back at you. I'm not upset, not in the slightest and every single word I've written has been with the intent to help you understand our position.

In any case, best of luck with your future endeavors.

Mate, not being funny, but I couldn't care for an "honerable mention" it's basically saying "sorry your just not good enough to be featured in my top 5" and to be honest, it's insulting. The fact that you or any of the other "Judges" have never put me in there top 5, let alone ever recieving any prize money, when NO OTHER ENTRY IS BEATBOXING & PLAYING PIANO AT THE SAMETIME, INSIDE A BEAUTIFUL CHURCH ON A 1850S GRAND PIANO, Yet, somehow, you guys deem other entries (at home on keyboards) more worthy winners!!! So I don't need to hear that my natural frustrations of all of the judges completely overlooking my talents and passions and insulting me with there rare "honerable mentions" while they go ahead and pick these other entries is going to showcase to the steemit community that I'm such an asshole and how dare I express my frustrations when I'm uploading creative / inspiring content, spending money so I can entertain these very same communities and for what? To never win, never be featured in the top 5, barely even make the amazing "honerable mention" sections and on top of all that, to now be looked upon as some arrogant asshole who now deserves to be cascaded away in some merky cave looking for fragments of shells that he can use as some bartering tool to exchange for a mouthful of crab piss. That's my picture. Cheers

Got it...

I cant wait to judge all the judges myself. How about you all post a musical post and let me give you back my feedback???

I came to you with kindness, if you want to be angry at someone that is your choice. I will happily remove myself from your life, that is obviously what's best.

I'm not being sarcastic. I wish you the best.

Being kind to me? You must be taking the p**s. I don't need kindness, I need my talents and passions to be acknowledged, like the ones you put in your top 5. That's a good start, and as I've mentioned in other posts, I don't expect to be winning every week cos that wouldn't be fair on all the other talents out there, but for some fkd up reason, you or any of the other judges dont think I'm worthy to ever be featured in your top 5 let alone winning it and Not ONCE in all my posts I've entered in 4 months!!! Absolute Joke

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05