Steemit Open Mic .... People Need To Relax

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hello my fellow steemians I hope everyone has enjoyed their holidays and New Year.

Since I found Steemit I am slowly but surely growing my account and followers (almost 1k!) and there is one person who I'm completely grateful to for showing me this platform and that's @luzcypher.

received_10156133404847427.jpg

My friend came up with an ingenious and innovative post not only to help musicians but to help grow the Steemit platform and community. The Open Mic Contest post has been growing steadily to it's current status of week 66 which is phenomenal in my opinion.

Steemit Open Mic Week 66 Record Your Performance And Win Steem Sponsored By Pfunk And Luzcypher --- by @luzcypher

The reason I'm writing this post is to tell everyone that steemians who are complaining about the time it takes to get upvoted or replied to by @luzcypher need to RELAX.

This man takes his most precious commodity "time" and spends a majority of it going through each and every music video entry on the Open Mic thread. In fact fellows steemians such as @pfunk @soundlegion @passion-ground @verbal-d @krystle @ausbitbank and these just a few I'm mentioning. There are many more that help with the Open Mic Contest who I've not mentioned as well.

This community is about helping each other grow and when I come across replies that are negative it bothers me in the worst way.

I'm not into flagging posts or replies even if they're negative but I will not sit idly by when a good friend is getting beat up for doing the upmost good for everyone.

Steemit = positivity in the community without negativity.
This is achieved through patience... Always.

image.jpg

Mic Drop.

received_10156100016742427.png

U5dsaoxy_DJQTVE2_DMMGkzj_DNPD4wq_Wx_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Thanks @mithrilweed. Listening to 200 songs a week and replying to their post is taking some time as you well know. I love it.

It does mean that some entries are not getting upvoted as fast as they used to and some people are complaining about it. I'm actually too busy to respond to their impatience knowing I will see their posts and upvote them eventually anyway. It's just getting bigger and taking more time.

I'm just going to keep on moving forward growing this thing and build the largest community of musicians as I can and it is a group effort.

In other words, Steem on!

Just keep doing your thing brother. Don't lose your mind ;)

Thankfully, my mind is still intact despite the repeated abuse I've put it through.

Love you brother! If you ever need any help with sorting through openmic posts or whatever, I will volunteer some time. Just yesterday I was thinking that if each entry is only 3 minutes, that is like 10 hours just to watch them all ONCE if there are 200 entries ! (Sorry I don't do code or web development stuff)
peace and thanks for all you do
PS- You don't have to respond to this post I know you are busy enough...

I was thinking about calculating the time but am too busy Steeming to do it. Thanks for that. I assure you I spend a lot more than 10 hours especially with 2 contests.

Sorry to hear that some people are complaining @luzcypher. That literally blows my mind. The fact that you listen to every entry, give upvotes and write thoughtful responses is pretty incredible.

I’ve been part of other contests on Steemit that are much smaller, yet the host still doesn’t give the same level of attention to contestants like you do.

Keep rockin it!

Your worthy reply has garnered an upvote. Following.

Aww thanks @mithrilweed! That’s really kind of you. I’m following you as well! 🤘🏻

It's getting harder to respond to them all I must admit.

I always find you're on the ball! Thanks for all of your work :)

Your astute insight has gotten you my upvote. Following

It'd be cool if the music could be compartmentalized by 'genre' with original music getting it's own category.

That way people would be able to select genres they're interested in and have a more strategic way to vote, instead of scrolling through 100s of videos.

It would be helpful if a developer could set your page up similar to the Steem Now app, listing music by category.

Have a 'genre' for instrumentals AND a special category for non-English vocals.

Have a 1st place winner by genre.

There would still only be ONE authentic 1st place winner, as judges would vote on the best of all categories as the week's winner.

One last thing, if a developer could create an A-Z tab, viewers could search by name, their favorite singers, sifting through the numbers.

It's just my offer to be part of the solution, rather than problem.

Peace.

Thanks, for reminding me of @andybet 's design! I will paste it on my clipboard for easy access this time! ✌!

I love what you guys have been accomplishing with the weekly steemit openmic's - keep on keeping on @luzcypher!

Wtf.... are ppl really complaining about that lol?

"The reason I'm writing this post is to tell everyone that steemians who are complaining about the time it takes to get upvoted or replied to by @luzcypher need to RELAX."

It's actually disappointing to know that you even had to write this.

Don't ppl know that:

"The Judges are the hero's of Open Mic!"

Hopefully this playfully illustrates the appropriate info required to shut them the hell up hehehe



He has since deleted his post but you can still see my comment there.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@wahyuputra/what-s-up-and-why-with-steemit-openmic-week-66-which-until-now-upvote-its-uneven-not-as-usual-please-response

However, I did discover what appears to be a glitch that happened on Steemit the last couple of days which could explain why some people were not getting upvoted.

I have a method to miss as few posts as possible but just saw a bunch of posts from yesterday and 2 days ago that was 100% not there until today. Most all of them are from Nigeria and India. Perhaps someone's Steemit node went down and they didn't show up in the feed until today or some other network issue could be possible. I've also noticed transactions showing not in chronological order or showing 2 times and then later it corrects itself. There could be some issues happening on the platform that are delaying posts from that area of the world. In any case, they are all upvoted now and we're caught up.

It is growing so fast guys it's now a fulltime job. Still looking for some developers to make this into an app. PM me if you're interested.

I couldn't let it slide... @luzcypher is my boy and I got his back.
I totally forgot about your vid.... Well said, done and sung. Upvoted and following.

gotta back a brother up ;)

You're a good friend man.

I can see how someone not knowing what's up might jump on criticizing you until they realize what's going on with Open Mic & Steemit bugs etc.

I think you handled it well tho. "kiss my ass" lol oh lord that was the best part for me.

Yeah, I got quite the chuckle out of that as well! Ha! Hey, we're all just people, man... and that's a good thing!

Dang, based on that Cancun image of our most esteemed @luzcypher - I'd have to say that he appears far more Angelic than Demonic... Ha! :-)

In our fragmented world of "good" vs. "evil" - I always knew that Luzcy was on the "good team!"

Thanks for posting this @mithrilweed!

He's in disguise, a fallen angel of sorts.

I keep my horns filed for just such occasions and only let them show among friends.

Upvoted and following 😇

I agree. I love the positive atmosphere here. It's the only thing that makes me brave enough to post.

I love the community here and appreciate the talent. You guys are awesome.

Kudos to open mic 👍👍👍

holiday was so fantastic

Completamente de acuerdo. Uno realmente se enamora de steemit y su positivismo.

thanks for the shout out and making this post. Openmic has been tremendous and with all the entries flowing in each week at an increasing rate we are just thrilled to be involved in such community musical engagement. big love to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61179.86
ETH 2631.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46