Open Mic Week 129 top 5 and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)

I've been traveling around Ecuador for the past week, but I could not let monday pass me by without finishing this post, of course not.

Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

https://steemit.com/openmic/@dianakyv/steemit-opennic-week-129-cover-sabor-a-mi-by-dianakyv

A beautiful interpretation of a true classic. I actually remember listening to Luis Miguel perform this very song when I was still a young lad, but I think I prefer it done by a beautiful female voice.

Second Place.-

https://steemit.com/openmic/@wilins/steemit-open-mic-w-129-mi-primera-cancion-cover-alejandro-sanz

Amazing performance from @wilins once again. This is one of those songs that requires that umpf, that indescribable pain in the voice that is necessary to carry the message forward. I know that does not make a lot of sense, but it does to me.

Third Place.-

https://steemit.com/openmic/@salvadorhr18/steemit-open-mic-semana-129-viajera-del-rio-vals-venezolano-cover-violin-solo

I must confess Venezuelan music is not something I know too well, but this piece is very special, very emotive. I mean, I felt the notes, the runs and it required not a single lyric to make the emotions come through. Absolutely great performance.

Fourth Place.-

https://steemit.com/openmic/@drewley/steemit-open-mic-week-129-rey-s-theme-star-wars

This was some gorgeous playing, and there is little more to say about that. I mean, I am a star wars fan so I'm super biased, but I think that even if I wasn't, I would still find myself loving the performance.

Fifth Place.-

https://steemit.com/openmic/@edwardstobia/steemit-openmic-week-129-original-song-porque-podemos-because-we-can-openmic-patrocinado-por-luzcypher-and-pfunk

I think Edward has been not only one of the most consistent performers in the openmic, but also one that has improved leaps since he first started performing on here. This was a very emotive performance, and the voice really carried the message, long before I read a single line.

Honorable Mentions

In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@ylich/steemitopenmicweek129-fiestaenelorzabyylichcover-n6q9scl52r

As always, I would like to express my gratitude to the different leaders and witnesses on this platform that have been supporting the @openmic contest. In no particular order:

If you love this contest, and you would like to keep it going, you could do so by supporting the witnesses that make it happen.

Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

Long live the openmic!!!

And that is it for me and week #129 - A little later than last week, but showed up to work!!!!

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love



Sort:  

I love our core group of musicians that come back every week and hearing them improve their skills. Plus, the new faces this week sound really good. Thanks @meno.

Thinking about you bro and hope you're doing good.

Click here to see the main post of who won Steemit Open Mic week 129

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95