Open mic week 109 - top 5 and honorable mentions

in #openmic5 years ago

Monday morning and I can't believe it. After making this post, I'm probably going to focus a bit on getting my bags ready for Steemfest 3, since I'm traveling tomorrow. I'm looking forward to meeting my fellow Steemians and some fellow open mic contestants there.

And of course, Luz and I have to share a drink, it has to happen!



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@dianakyv - Prayer (cover)

What a beautiful performance and in three languages at that. I got goosebumps so many times listening I just knew this had to go as my first place this week.

Congratulations guys, you really outdid yourselves.

Second Place.-

@montanacellist - Crying Knot

I'm so glad this one was brought to my attention, of course I had it in my queue for listening, but a little bird told me I was in for a treat and boy the little bird was right. What a beautiful performance. I can't quite place my finger on the style, but for some reason I'm thinking Alt J and that doesn't make that much sense, I know.

Third Place.-

@josecabrerav - Ya no me acuerdo(feat Wilins)

How awesome is this!! Two mega talented troubadours getting together to do some emotional music. What is not to like? - I'm so glad these two have become good friends and are dedicated to making music these days. I fully expect more and more amazing songs to keep coming from this duo.

Fourth Place.-

@k0wsk1 - A little help from my Friends

As an avid beatles fan, of course this is going to hit my radar and Kowsk1 did a super job with this amazing little song. The falsetto tone was so good, only that merit alone I knew he would make the list.

Fifth Place.-

@belenopr - Under my skin (cover)

What vocal control!!! I was really impressed to hear how Belen was hitting all the notes, not missing one single one, and then to just drive it home, decided to simulate a trumpet right there in the middle of the song, just to make sure I don't pass this by.

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.


@mariajrruizb - O sole mio


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

My deepest of Gratitudes


I would like to personally thank @ausbitbank, @curie and @aggroed for helping out our community. It's inspiring to see leadership taking the initiative to keep our beloved #openmic alive like this and its to me the biggest bullish indicator that we are on our way to a better, brighter tomorrow.

To our long time patron @pfunk once again, thank you for backing this project as you have for so long. I hope seeing the community rally behind the contest that we love so much made you proud. We have something very special here, and you've been key for it to be what it has become.

Long live the openmic!!!




And that is it for me and week #109, not too late in the day, not like last time... Ready to do this all over again!!!

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love




Other posts by yours truly

Sort:  

i loved montana cello and they barely made 50c. i think that was the best entry, plus the singer is like piggys body double country twin. it's kinda freaky.

they are pretty awesome, no doubt!

Wilins se fue a españa ya, pero si, tambien me encantarian mas colaboraciones de ese duo, ya eso es cuestion de tiempo!

@montanacellist are great! love how it sounds that.

Thanks so much @meno :) Best of luck in your travels to SteemFest!!

The song is very calm and very beautiful to listen to.

This post has received a 5.00% upvote from @aiyanna!

This is an extra way we have decided to give back and award serious bloggers!

Feel free to leave a comment or suggestion to improve the efforts of this bot. Delegation and donations will be used to increase steem power.

Hola @meno gracias por la mención honorífica. Estoy muy contenta con tu selección. Felicidades a todos.

Wooouuuh meno!!! Gracias, que hermoso y emocionante ver esto y verme alli.. Que orgullo y que honor!.

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.069 which ranks you at #292 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 265 contributions, your post is ranked at #15.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I feel like James Brown "I feel good"
and everything is your fault jaja. Thank you so much, this is so very special to me ❤️🐈

This post has received a 15.00% upvote from @teevmoore!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83