Open Mic Songwriters Challenge Week 3 - My top 5 Selection

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

   I won't lie week three was a challenge, I'm fully aware that some songwriters participating this week had a hard time writing to this theme, but I'm extremely proud of every single one of you who gave it a go. It's not easy to dark themes for everyone, as songwriters we all have a certain area of comfort, and that is just how we understand, how we communicate with art.

stolen soul.png

   It has taken me even more days than usual to draw up my list this week, for the simple reason that there is such amazing entries, that I've had to argue with myself for days over this list. It is my intention to not only listen to lyrics, and to melody but also understand the general emotion conveyed by the song, that magic element that is not defined by a spoken language, a note being strummed or even musical rules.

Without further rambling from my part....

@lk666

   I had my suspicions that @lk666 would shine with this theme, he is a writer who is very familiar with dark themes and pensive lyrics. When I saw him post his entry last week , I knew reading the lyrics that I was in for a treat. His entry was also featured on MSP waves by @isaria over the weekend, and it was received with a lot of praise as well.

   In my book, this song was the strongest at representing this weeks theme, and it was delivered brilliantly.

@basilmarples

   Basil is such a talented Steemian Urchin, I fully expected him to take the week's theme to his own realm of silliness, but what I never expected him to do, is to write such a catchy freaking song. I've been singing the chorus of this song for a week now and I'm sure I'm driving people mad around my house.

   I'm pretty sure that Basil is going to be a Steem Celeb one day, he is already a legend in my feed (stole this line from the man)

@cabelindsay

   I don't know if @cabelindsay is aware of how great song he just wrote is. I may be biased when I say this, but listening to his original entries I can't help but to see a progression towards songwriting greatness. This was not a simply theme for @cabelindsay to write, I'm fully aware that he is one to always see the cup half full, regardless of the situation. Which is why I loved his entry even more, because you would never know it from just this one song.

Very catchy chorus, fantastic lyrics... this is a freaking hit... this could be a song playing on anyone's radio any day of the week.

@chrisroberts

   I can't help but to imagine a whole movie playing before my eyes, this song to me is not just a song, its a soundtrack. What I find funny about Chris is that he calls himself a newbie songwriter, but he can write like a seasoned pro.

   I have no doubt in my mind that this talented man will go far on Steemit, not only with his music which is fanstastic, but because of his life's outlook and his personality. I'm very grateful to have him participating on this event, and like I told him on his original post. He killed it twice...

@onetruebrother

   What a fantastic entry from @onetruebrother , I've been jamming to this song for two days now. His natural ability to find the "hook" every single time might not be human. I'm listening to this track as I'm writing this again thinking how is it that his song's are not playing on the radio. I don't get it... someone please send this man to Nashville!!

Honorable Mentions this week: @senzenfrenz @anniemacleod @geenaizzy @lucybanks @soykatonline @fitzgibbon @jaybird @tarotbyfergus


A giant thanks to everyone who has embraced this challenge, like I've said many times before the idea of this competition is for us to strengthen our community, learn more about each other, and share our passion for creating music. It's important to know that there are no losers in my book, we all win... I win the opportunity to listen to great music from musicians I respect and admire, and for that I'm very grateful.

The theme for this week has been announced on @luzcypher's weekly post. If you are just bumping into this challenge let me invite you to join us for week 4 starting Dec 13, 2017. @passion-ground @krystle and myself can't wait to hear what you have to share with us.

Did you know @krystle and @isaria are hosting a Open Mic show on Sundays?

As our community of musician grows more and more initiatives are being born. In what will be the fourth show @krytle and @isaria will be sharing Open Mic entries this coming Sunday Dec 17, 2017. It would be amazing to see you all there.

I will include a link MSP Waves/PAL on this post, in hopes that you join us on Discord and and ride the MSP Waves with us this coming Sunday.

I'll sign off for now... thank you for being part of the songwriters challenge and Steem!

meno logo.png

Sort:  

These are some awesome totally awesome songs. The talent here is spilling over. I had sooooo wanted to jump into this and still think I might have time to make an appearance . Mad love to you @meno one of my absolute favorite songwriters on here, you are doing load for the community. This music scene is poppin'
@basilmarples is a kick I just love his work!!! great stuff all around

Oh Bonnie I'm still hoping to see you jump in one of these weeks... you are one of my favorite songwriters, and not only of Steemit ;)

thank you for stopping by!

Thankyou so much @soundlegion! Im really over the moon that you guys are all enjoying the songs. And massive thanks to @meno for the vote of muchos-confidence here, its giving me a major happiness boost right now! Hoping to get round to recording something this week but its a crazy busy time..... I'll see what happens!

Some very good picks @meno. Resteemed.

Thanks so much @meno and @luzcypher you guys are bringing these out of me..."I don't really know just how it happens".
Just finished recording my entry for week 4, and I am having the feeling as if I just ran a marathon when somebody yells out "hey dude it's a DOUBLE marathon, keep going!"

Thank you @meno !
I must admit to the smile that crossed my face when I saw the theme for this particular week. It was a very easy theme for me to tackle :)

everyone has an incredible talent, it's really a difficult decision

Best @meno 👍👍

I hope next Sunday goes into the nomination

This post has received a 0.28 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thank you so much for the honorable mention, I'm delighted 😁

you are more than welcome Geena

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Meno from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82