Steemit Open Mic Week 74 "I Hope That I Don't Fall In Love With You" - Tom Waits (Last Day Entry, Sorry Guys)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

.......... He come's running into the bar a bit late and goes up to the organiser and says, any slots left?..............................

Thanks goodness there's always room here so long as you get it in on time.

I've had a really busy week, but managed to record this early this am, after being up all night!! Then I got held up for ages trying to sync the audio to the video................ it was all synced fine in the edit software, but totally off when rendered. Anyway, few hours later, for the techy minded, I found it's because I was using 44.1 sample rate for the audio instead of 48, which works better with 25fps....... apparently. Ah well you learn something new every day, cool!

Oh and I've finally sorted the lighting out a bit better, though I could do with something more diffused, as sitting there with harsh lights in your eyes is like being on a badly lit stage, lol.

steemit_open_mic_week_74_1.png

I hope you enjoy this interpretation of one of my favourite Tom Waits song. Having said that I have so many favourite Tom Waits songs. He's one of those rare songwriters that brings strong imagery to mind when you listen to the words. His songs if I were to describe them in photographic terms, he'd definitely be under the "Street" genre. Street photography is really about candidly catching moments that depict the very essence of what it is to be human. The very same as the majority of Tom waits' songs, beautifully so too, and with no judgement. I just love this mans work. A total song writing genius. I have all his vinyl up until '86, and still listen to it regularly.

I'd like to say a huge thank you to @luzcypher, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, @krystle, @verbal-d and @meno, I knew you guys were busy with this open mic, but I heard either Verbal-d or passion-ground say you guys do 40hrs a week for this show, 40 f'kin hours people!!! Well except luzcypher who does a great deal more than that. I'd also like to show my appreciation to @pfunk, not only for sponsoring so generously here at the open mic, but also for dropping in on a couple of my photography posts, thank you!

Seriously guys you are the stars of this open mic, thanks to all!!

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@martinsandersuk/hi-steemians-please-allow-me-to-introduce-myself-i-m-a-man-of

Facebook verification
https://www.facebook.com/martin.sanders.739/posts/10157435650814848

A red legged Golden Orb Weaver Spider. Thailand.
https://steemit.com/photofeed/@martinsandersuk/s-e-asia-photography-blog-nature-and-wildlife-red-legged-golden-orb-weaver-spider

My first steemit #openmic entry, 'old stylee' blues, on my favourite guitar, my much loved and adored '65 Gibson LG5. https://steemit.com/openmic/@martinsandersuk/steemit-open-mic-week-67-you-don-t-know-my-mind-joe-callicott-cover

I officially ride Moto Guzzi Motorcycles................ vroom, vroom!!

https://www.martinsandersphotography.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/martin.sanders.739
https://www.facebook.com/martinsandersphotography
https://www.flickr.com/photos/28448513@N03/

Sort:  

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Great song and performance, brother! Been there before with the 44 vs 48 issue... ha! Like me, I bet you won't make that mistake again... :-)

Hey @passion-ground, thanks.

Yeah, you're right there, that'll not be my problem again, however ......... NEXT!! 😎😉

It's been awhile since I last edited videos, prior to making videos for the open mic, and I'm getting used to a new editing software, Lightworks 14 (free version). So I've had a steep learning curve. Greatsoftware for anyone lookingfor a good free version (will only do HD720

Good to see your Voices of Open Mic, it's good to put voice(s) and face to names you know and see so often. So f'cking envious I am though, you know why?.................. mosquitos in February!!! We have a few inches of snow here in the UK bro, brought in by a siberian wind, and it's freezing the balls off brass monkeys. 😣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52