What Should Steemit Open Mic Do With This Money And Why @pfunk Rocks And Has My Vote As A Steemit Witness

in #openmic7 years ago

I just want to take a moment to thank @pfunk for his generous and continued support for Steemian's Open Mic Contest. Last week he made a post about Open Mic to help get the word out to his followers and generously donated all the SBD from that post to me to do what I see fit with it.

@pfunk also has been donating 200 Steem every week since Open Mic's early inception and also kicking in some extra Steem to users who post original music on Open Mic. He's not even entering the contest but I think he supports it because he loves music and thinks this contest is good for the Steemit community. That's why I'm a big fan of @pfunk.

Thank you so much @pfunk and thank you to everyone who has contributed and supported Open Mic in any way. The community support is what makes it so much fun and keeps it a special part of Steemit.

You can show your appreciation to @pfunk by voting for him as a witness. Witnesses are what keep the Steemit blockchain running and makes this site even possible. So, show your support for @pfunk by voting for him as witness here

steemians-support-open-mic.png

How Should These Funds Be Used?

Now I want to ask you guys a question. A couple days ago @pfunk transferred some Steem Dollars in addition to the usual Steem he donates to Steemit Open Mic. Here's a screenshot.

pfunk transfer.png

He said I can use it at my discretion and I want to ask you, the Steemit community, what WE should do with it.

Should we:

  1. Increase the Open Mic prize money until the funds are spent?

  2. Use the funds to advertise to musicians online or in a musicians magazine to attract new users to Steemit?

  3. I have a better idea. (explain your idea in the comments below)

Please take the time to suggest how you think these funds should be used in the comments below. Thanks and again, thank you all for your continued, enthusiastic support of Steemit Open Mic.

Sort:  

Here´s a thought, and it may not be a perfect idea but its something.
Why don´t you make a SPECIAL EDITION OPENMIC and get everyone to do some steemit-marketing (count me in) about it so EVERYONE knows about the challenge, lots of resteems and use the funds to buy the winner a plane ticket to Lisbon to the STEEM FEST so he/she can be the Official Open-Mic representative, have a shirt and record him/herself singing and dancing with everyone on Steemfest and then upload a "memory" video of his/her experience.
Sounds like a great reward for the Open Mic Special Edition Winner :D :D

That is the most awesome fucking idea I have heard yet. Is there a date and place set for the next Steemfest?

It was released a few days ago!! It is on early November, not sure the dates (I guess it is a little far away but hey, I think Open mic can last until that day, it has a lot of popularity and users involved!).
That would be awesome, one of the only challenges with its own private representative!! :D

I vote for this.

While I don't participate in Open Mic, I do follow it. I'd suggest you do some paid advertising for the winners of prior Open Mic contests with an outside content marketing agency. I use Outbrain for my pieces, but there are other who specialize in other niches.

By doing this you help the artist grow a fan base beyond Steemit, and it brings awareness to Steemit as well when people click through the link to land on their page here. Win - win.

That sounds like a cool idea. Any suggestion of an ad agency that would be a good fit? One that does a music niche.
I like the idea of leveraging Steemit Open Mic to bring in new users to the platform. I think the interaction from the community at Open Mic would engage and retain new users. It's an active micro-niche here.
I'm also interested in what the community thinks, hence why I made this post. Thanks for you ideas.

I would say either spend it on advertising or start a fund for a like bi-yearly or yearly grand prize, there could be a separate contest where all the previous winners submit new entries, maybe even host some sort of google hangouts livestream or something like that.

That is a a good idea too.

That's excellent, I really like the idea of number 2. A good bit of coverage that would expand the steemit musician community.

Now I'm just off to double check if I already have pfunk as a witness. :0)

Cool and thank you.

You can reward more participants, for example 2-3 contestants on the second/third place.

That is a good idea. Thanks

Reinvesting into prizes might be cool, since it feels like the open mic is already growing at a healthy rate without advertising.

It is growing very organically and the people entering are awesomely supportive of each other. That seems to me to be a good place to land on Steemit if you play music and are new to the platform.

That gift from @pfunk is super news. I like cebymasters' idea, more rewards for participants. That will attract more steemian musicians. The numbers are growing each week, yea!
My thought is to use the funds to encourage the developement of steemits' own video platform.
I voted for @pfunk for witness too.

Steemits own video platform. Like the SteemQ (a youtube-like version of Steemit) that is supposedly being built?

Yes, SteemQ. I wasn't sure of the name just caught a blip and thought it worth a mention.
Unsure if that is a solution or will create bigger problems.
Open mic is adding more contestants and last week amazed me with the increased number. I appreciate that this venue exists and support your efforts @luzcypher :-)

Thanks. We are having fun with it. I wonder if SteemQ is still happening. I like that idea.

Very good initiative. I like idea no.2.

Great post luzcy! Upvoted, voted for @pfunk for witness, and shall resteem as well. Excuse my ignorance, but how much does each 100 STEEM buy in US dollars? Perhaps then I could make some suggestions for the funds... Thnx again!

Current price of 1 Steem is $1.32 after having gone up 23.56% these last 24 hours.

Source: https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/steem/#markets

Thanks ego! appreciate the update.....

Right now 1 Steem is selling for $1.02 but that is for the prizes for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place for this week.
The $412 Steem Dollars he transfered is currently worth $1.65 USD per Steem Dollar or about $680 USD. That is the amount I'm asking the community about their opinions on how it should be used.
Thanks for voting for @pfunk for witness!

Thanks for the valuation metrics, good to know...

The first Idea is on point and we can as well implement the second idea along with the first. Advertise steemit in a Mag, attract more crowd..hell, we might have ourselves a well established Musician/Producer who can help others.

I'm reaching out to a few producer friends of mine to help me get some new artists here but no one has bit yet. I will keep trying. Sometimes it has taken me a year to convince someone to come to or write about our shows. Persistence sometimes creates magic often disguised as overnight success.

A year?!..Mahn,thats rough! I believe everything will get sorted, in due time. We appeeciate your efforts💪

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61757.03
ETH 2490.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64