Steemit Open Mic - I Was A Guest On The Steem Growth Forum

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I was invited to speak at the Steem Growth Forum today. I loved talking about Open Mic and listening to the other speakers give their talks. Thank you for inviting me.

Here is a recording of my part of the show where I talk about Steemit Open Mic and it's growth in the community.

From @aggroed's post

I just listened to it and realized at the very end of my 5-minutes I didn't fully answer a really important question @aggroed asked me, instead I used the time to shamelessly plug @meno's generous sponsorship of the new OpenMicSongwriters Challenge where one lucky winner gets a new guitar.

The question he asks is:

How else can we help?

How do we get new musicians onto the platform and make it more attractive for them?

and the answer is really simple.

The easiest way I have found to get musicians to try Steemit Open Mic is to:

  1. Show them the trending page for Open Mic. https://steemit.com/trending/openmic and let them see what people are earning right now by entering Open Mic.
  2. Ask them to play you a song while you record it on your phone and ask them for permission to post in on your blog.
  3. Show them how much it earned a few days later.

If it did well they will be interested.

So make them a deal. If they start their own account and keep playing and posting on it, you will transfer 100% of the first post you did to their account. If they don't start an account, you keep the rewards or take them to lunch.

The point is, get them seeing, hearing, and doing a post.

That's really all there is to it. If you know a musician this is the easiest way to get them involved in Steemit.

Thanks again for inviting me on the show and Steem on.

Here's a list of who came on the air.

@andrarchy
@stellabelle
@lukestokes
@elear
@blocktrades
@timcliff
@beanz
@ausbitbank
@luzcypher
@teamsteem
@swelker101
@globocop
@cervantes
@drdave
@ellievallie
@Isaria
@kennybll
@kubbyelizabeth
@rodeo67
@Meno
@yabapmatt
@transisto

To hear the whole show read Steem Growth Forum Was Today Here S The Recording --- by @aggroed

Open_Mic_Songwriters_Challenge_Win_AGuitar_1.png

luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Learn more about Basic Universal Income here

Sort:  

Way to go brother!

Hay what I am concern about steem is that starting many and many project alll work differently and all want to make profit out of it. Yaaa I know that people are continuously putting money into it. And there are curator and all many project . But it's not a coordinated project all the new project just using this platform to gain money and to impose to a project that will give more money to them . And so it is about all the developer who all works seperately, but what about a simple user who does not have a lot money and want to a part of community and he also want to grow with community but actually it's not happening, it's also like the rich get richer and poor get poorer, you had creating many bots all works for you only if you give your money to them. No one actually consern about the real user. Why we not talk about the growth of every individual .
Yaaa there are many effort done by steemit community to improve this platform but not that much , so that value became 10 dollars in 2018.

I started my account with nothing. I started helping others as I learned how to build an online community. I didn't know anyone on the platform at all. No one showed me.

I made connections here one person at a time, sharing what we have in common, building a connection. For me, it's about music and traveling. Find what you're passionate about and blog about it. Forget about the money. Stop comparing your wallet to others and just make connections.

Do this consistently, daily, passionately, and honestly, for a year and I promise you will be glad you did.

Okkkkk sir as I had listen in the conversation that an musician may use this open mic plateform to show what they can would you think it may work here .
And one more question what is the meaning to making connections please explain it in detail .

Its just like real life @googlee if you put your best effort and intentions forward, become part of the community, share experiences with others. Share their work, comment on their work, think of creative ways to contribute to initiatives that can help steemit. You will with time if you are consistent grow your account.

Think of it like seeds of altruism. The best short description I could give you.

Rock on! I'm about to hear the segment now.

Why I built this bot?
I'm hoping to start a revolution. So that everyone can earn
even if they just joined steemit. Bad posts get upvoted by whales
so they earn money, while we get left out. It's an attempt to bring
good posts to light. Hope it will succeed.
I'm hosting this competion
which will
earn you steem dollars
only if you make good curation choices.
Anyone can be curator
you don't have to be part of some guild, all you need is
your opinions and steemit account, visit: https://steemit.com/money/@improve-bot/open-competion-1-earn-money-with-improve-bot
for more information.

Dude, I'm way too busy manually curating already. I'm not part of a guild, I'm creating one.

Why should there be any guilds ? Why aren't we all equal ?

That's really funny. Why aren't we all equal? Is that a real question?

I don't get what's funny. Why doesn't every vote carry the same power ? Why are there guilds, whales, professional curators ?

I'm sorry to butt in, but I just can't help but to wonder what is the goal you are trying to achieve?

I'm trying to get all bots banned, and all curation banned as well. When people have only their own opinions to rely on. When every vote is equal, that's when Steemit will flourish.
Like wtf, this guy gets 66 upvotes, and only 33 saw the article.

Maybe you have a separate account, maybe you are not really a new guy. But just In case you are new to Steemit, I would really suggest you read up on the Ethos of the platform.

There are no bosses, there are no rules per say... so as much as you are entitled to your opinion, and I'm no one to tell you not to express it, what you are doing right now is not going to help you cause in any way, and it might actually do the opposite.

Just because I want to make sure I'm being fair to and not overacting to your comments. Let me just say they are coming across as aggressive, and not friendly in the least bit, if that is not your intention you should make that clear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48