Steemit Open Mic 69 - Original "Of The Gorge"

in #openmic6 years ago

Hey Steemians

This week I present a song about the Gorge Bridge outside of Taos New Mexico. A bridge I live only 5 miles from and a bridge that is frequently jumped from by those who wish to relieve themselves of this reality.

lyrics

There's a scar run north to south
In the land of the so called free
Our mother's beautiful scar so fierce as rock
Bridging land and memory of human suffering

Sits a bridge of bending each side of this scar
Where those who've been pushed too far
Release themselves in the womb of the Earth
A place of great beauty and the suffering of mankind

Sitting at a sacred shakra point of our mother
The cries are heard of those who are ready
To hear the verse of the damned
No one gets out of here alive anyway

Of the gorge

gorge1.jpg

Thanks go to those of the Open Mic team @luzcypher @pfunk @soundlegion @verbal-d @passion-ground @krystle @jessamynorchard

and thanks also go to the Earth for such a beautiful place like the Gorge

Follow and download my music
https://morktra.com/
https://www.facebook.com/Morktra-Frank-Murphy-132514296806152
https://morktra.bandcamp.com/
https://soundcloud.com/morktra
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCAalDuRbFQkf6e4OtcLDE8A
https://www.reverbnation.com/morktra

PEACE, LOVE, AND HORNS UP!

Sort:  

wow.........great song.......your vocal tonic just too good.......music always be refresh our mind........that's i feel for your song..........

Thank you very much :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lk666 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

loved it man! also the meaning of this song!
in this part I liked the notes of vocal :
Release themselves in the womb of the Earth
A place of great beauty and the suffering of mankind
and ending solo my favorite!
great job like always!!

That's a song filled with sorrow my friend , it's quite powerful . The acoustic bass line has a chilling effect. I find it cool that you could find a song out of this place, indeed music can convey feelings and stories of anything. Oh .. and btw.. using overdrive for the solo acoustic parts? that was interesting! Cheers bro!

Thank you man, means a lot from someone who can convey so much emotion in their playing and singing such as you.
I was trying to convey this sort of Southwestern feel with that acoustic bass line.
It might even be that this is the first time I've written about such a specific place, and I must say it makes me feel even more so the "Bard" :)
and with the overdrive usage on the acoustic, I like to play outside the sandbox sometimes, it can have really cool results. \m/M\m/

Good luck with this week's competition.

Just uploading my entry now on my super-slow broadband :-)

I know the struggle, I live where the options are satellite or cellular, I chose cellular because it is at least useable. With uploads, everything else stops except the upload which can be as high as 5 hours.
Good luck to you too buddy ;)

Great song man!

I hear the despair and emptiness in the song. It is well done my friend and good to hear the back story. Thanks.

Thank you Troy!
Yes I realized the other day about how many have jumped between now and when I moved here about 8 months ago. I'd say somewhere between 8 and 10 and mostly people from out of town, like Santa Fe. They may not even find the body for a week. I picked up a hitch hiker the other day and we were talking about how if they choose that way to go then there is no doubt in their mind. I cannot even imagine that sort of despair as of yet.

Man i love d way u play d guitar.. I wish i had ur kind of guitar.. Lol... If only wishes were horses.. Great work boss

Thanks man!

U r wlcm my boss

Hermano me encantó la historia! Gran inspiración te concede ese lugar! Puedo entender lo que sientés y como lo demuestras con música! Se siguen escuchando los gritos de los condenados por la eternidad

Gracias, el lugar es realmente inspirador. Voy a estar haciendo un blog completo al respecto pronto equipado con fotos y un video musical completo para la canción

Excellent sound brother. Congratulations!

Thank you man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76