Open Mic Week 61 - Instrumental Cover of Wardruna's "Helvegen"

in #openmic6 years ago

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Greetings Steemians!

Originally I was going to do my Songwriter's Challenge song for the Open Mic, but, I was humming along with this song one morning during my meditation and my son came in and he ask if he could sing along. You see my son thinks he can sing in Norse. Well, I humored him and in the process I came up with this instrumental version of Helvegen and figured it would be rad to post it for open mic 61 instead.



 lyrics


 Kven skal synge meg
i daudsvevna slynge meg
når eg på helvegen går
og dei spora eg trår
er kalde så kalde

Eg songane søkte
Eg songane sende
då den djupaste brunni
gav meg dråpar så ramme
av Valfaders pant

Alt veit eg Odin
kvar du auge løynde

Kven skal synge meg
i daudsvevna slynge meg
når eg på helvegen går
og dei spora eg trår
er kalde så kalde

Årle ell i dagars hell
enn veit ravnen om eg fell

Når du ved helgrindi står
og når laus deg må rive
skal eg fylgje deg
yver gjallarbrui med min song

Du blir løyst frå banda som bind deg
Du er løyst frå banda som batt deg

"Deyr fé,
deyja frændr,
deyr sjalfr it sama,
en orðstírr
deyr aldregi,
hveim er sér góðan getr.

Deyr fé,
deyja frændr,
deyr sjalfr it sama,
ek veit einn,
at aldrei deyr:
dómr um dauðan hvern." 


In English

The path to Hel


Who shall sing me,

Into deathsleep sling me,

When I on the path to Hel go,

And this track I tread

Is cold, so cold, so cold.

 

I sought the songs,

I sent the songs.

Then the deepest well

Gave me tears so harsh

From the Slain-father's pledge


 

I know everything, Odin,

To whom you gave your eye.

Who shall sing me,
Into deathsleep sling me,
Whence I on the path to Hel go,
And this track I tread
Is cold, so cold, so cold.

Early or in the day's end,
The raven still knows if I fall.

 

Once you stand at the gate to Hel

And when you have to tear free,

I shall follow you

Over Gjallarbrú with my song.

You will be free from the bonds that bind you,
You are free from the bonds that bound you!

"Cattle die,
Friends die,
So, too, must you die.
Though one thing
Never dies;
The fair fame one has earned.

Cattle die,
Friends die,
So, too, must you die.
I know one,
That never dies;
Judgement of a dead man's life.



I hope you all enjoyed!

Please check out my entry for the songwriting contest week 1

https://steemit.com/openmic/@lk666/openmic-songwriters-challenge-week-1-broken-mirror-sacrifice


PEACE, LOVE, AND HORNS UP!

Sort:  

great music my friend. That song would translate well to the piano too. You are creative percussion on the guitar. Those lyrics strike me in an inspiration to write. Thanks my friend.

Thanks man!
That is wonderful, I'd love to hear some original work!

That was pretty rad Lk!! I liked the percussion break :) :)

Thank you very much Lyndsay!

That was way cool. I love how you layered it all together. Then at the end when you've got it all going and you can just walk off the stage and let it play... so badass.

Thank you very much :) I do think that's a nice little touch when using my looper pedal.

This is fucking awesome, man! Totally dug the whole vibe... Great guitar work, dude! It's like a "revelation" of sorts - at least that's what I got from it... Nice drumming btw... haha....

Thank you @passion-ground!
I'm really glad you dug it :)

hey brother, I missed this post ....
this is a great performance, the song reminds me of old times and like viking songs ... really great \m/

Thank you @davidfar!
Wardruna to me is an ancestral cry from the past to the modern man of today. We should not forget the old ways even while embracing the new.

Awesome Frank! Really good performance!

Thanks man!

I really enjoyed watching you playing your instrumental cover.

Thank you for sharing the lyrics too.

Thank you!

this is so cool sir.,

Thank you :)

Thanks @luzcypher!
I was going to do my songwriter challenge entry, but figured ahh why not just give everyone something else to jam on.

is your meditation some satanic stuff? I mean the song and the number of your nick...

Although Satan is a cool and heroic figure from the bible, I'm afraid I'm not a believer in either him nor any of the rest of it.
As for meditation, the point of meditation is to clear the mind of the ego and every other bit of clutter, so I don't actually meditate on anything, just breathing and emptying the mind.
As to the song being Satanic, it is not. The subject matter at hand in any Wardruna song is Scandinavian folklore, culture, and its pre-christian pagan roots. So, in essence, Gospel music has more in common with Satan than this song ;)
As for me choosing 666 in my handle, it's for shock value and to keep closed minded folks from bothering me much LOL, I mean it is just a number.
Thank you for the upvote and comment \m/

You're welcome, I was just curious. And by the way, that was well played with all that percussive stuff:)

Thanks again, yes I love that percussive aspect in their music. It really gives it that primeval feeling.

I will check them out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68745.77
ETH 3744.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76