Open Mic Week 12 - In the arms of the angel cover acapella

in #openmic8 years ago

open mic week 12.png

Here it is my first entry into the open mic contest!

I am doing and acapella cover of Sarah McLachlan's In the arms of the Angel, I hope you all enjoy :D

Lyrics:

Spend all your time waiting
For that second chance
For a break that would make it okay

There's always some reason
To feel not good enough
And it's hard, at the end of the day

I need some distraction
Oh, beautiful release
Memories seep from my veins

let me be empty
Oh, and weightless, and maybe
I'll find some peace tonight

In the arms of the angel
Fly away from here
From this dark, cold hotel room

And the endlessness that you fear
You are pulled from the wreckage
Of your silent reverie

You're in the arms of the angel
May you find some comfort here

So tired of the straight line
And everywhere you turn
There's vultures and thieves at your back

The storm keeps on twisting
Keep on building the lies
That you make up for all that you lack

It don't make no difference
Escape one last time
It's easier to believe

in this sweet madness
Oh, this glorious sadness
That brings me to my knees

In the arms of the angel
Fly away from here
From this dark, cold hotel room

And the endlessness that you fear
You are pulled from the wreckage
Of your silent reverie

You're in the arms of the angel
May you find some comfort here

You're in the arms of the angel
May you find some comfort here

All images are either created by myself or available in the public domain and are linked to my steemimg gallery with all source information

Like what you've read so far?

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines

Sort:  

Much kudos and respect for your first entry being acapella. Nice singing voice, very soft, sweet and subtly relaxing with the balance of a smooth vibrato. This song is beautiful with such deep lyrics. Great choice for a cover. Best of luck to your entry. Upvoted

Thanks so much, I really appreciate the comment.

I have been super nervous about this entry, as I know my voice is still weak and pitchy from being sick for so long.

But just had to enter already, I'm only singing acapella because I can't edit videos and add backing music just don't know how lol.

Also with my hearing impairment I really need a voice to help me follow or I can get lost with the tune, I hope as I continue to get better my voice will return to its full range and control.

Anyway thanks so much for your kind words, and good luck for your entry as well :)

Thank you so much, and you're most welcome.

Just a suggestion for accompaniment, you can always make things easy on yourself and have an inexpensive portable speaker and a set of audio splitters to have both the speaker plugged into the splitter, and your headphones plugged in so you have the sound going into your ears, as well as the music coming out the speakers and the splitter being plugged into your laptop or source of music.

That will save you time and I do it often in my live performance videos since I currently can't edit videos right now either.

I hope your voice fully recovers and you will only get better with time, training, and due diligence. :)

Thanks so much for your comments, feedback is always appreciated!

I will look into your suggestion, the only issue I think there might be is if I have it running this way, wouldn't it also have the original singer's voice coming through with the music?

I'd love a way to easily sync an instrumental backing with an original that only I can hear, but so far I haven't had any luck yet.

My voice is getting better but it's taking so long over 6 months now, I hope to one day regain my former 4 octave range - but that may be some time in the distant future at this rate.

I'm just happy to even have what range and control I do have back, my voice was gone completely for over a week and then when it did return it would break and sound horrible.

So I'm stoked with having it at all :D

Very well done. Thanks for sharing!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

No worries thanks for the support :D

Nice competition for everyone else to compete with, and excellent song choice!

Yeah I have been loving watching this comp, but I've been sick for months and lost my voice.

I'm only just getting it back now and it's still not where it should be, but good enough to give it a go - and I think everyone should at least have a go, even just for the fun of it!

Thanks :D

That's how I feel, at least have some fun and give it a go.

Upvote and followed. Great song. Kudos and keep on singing and sharing.

Thanks so much I really appreciate it, I was so nervous putting this out there - so really thank you :D

You remind me of my special friend who is so freekin' talented and humble. She recently did her first open mic sharing her poetry. She read a favorite poem of hers and then wrote a poem just before open mic. She wanted to share something raw, spontaneous to get out of her comfort zone. The crowd love her first poem but her down and dirty quick 15 minute poem the crowd went nuts over. SHE INSPIRES ME in so many ways like you do. Amazing things await you and me too!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60934.92
ETH 3379.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48