Steemit OpenMic week 56 - Original Song "Saturn"

in #openmic7 years ago

IMG_E8809.JPG

Back in the orange room for OpenMic week 56.

This week I am contributing another original song to the mix, "Saturn". I haven't really picked up my guitar in a couple weeks, so I am a tad bit rusty - but I more so want people to listen to the vocals anyways ;) I wrote this one almost ten years ago about a guy, and this guy drove a Saturn. For lack of anything better to title it.. it worked.

It's still one of my favorite originals I wrote, and my mom LOVES it.. though she's biased. I hope you like it just as much.

Good luck OpenMic friends!

His hair is dark, just like the night
I saw him standing there, he made me feel alright.
His heart is big with room for love
but always falls apart when pushes come to shove.

His body's young, but soul is old
I thought I heard him say his love was bought and sold.
He sings a song that sets him free now,
he said these days that song reminds him of me.

Saturn's all around me
it's shadow now surrounds me
It's taking over me
Saturn came and found me
it tries so hard to ground me
I wish it'd set me free

Each day I think about the next
and why it's gotta be so damn complex.
Just when I start to walk away,
I turn around to find that Saturn's here to stay.

Saturn's all around me
it's shadow now surrounds me
It's taking over me
Saturn came and found me
it tries so hard to ground me
I wish it'd set me free

As Saturn show's it's face to me
at first it's like I cannot breathe
But then I know he still loves me

I try so hard to make it right
even though I know I'll never win this fight.
Sometimes I hate to be alone
but any other way I never would have grown.

Saturn's all around me
it's shadow now surrounds me
It's taking over me
Saturn came and found me
it tries so hard to ground me
I wish it'd set me free

Sort:  

I must agree with your mother... this is another hit song you got... not that I would know how do it, but this should be pitched to nashville...

THANKS! @meno I would kill (not literally) to have this one heard by the right person in Nashville ;)

I hope you take this like a compliment, because I mean like it one... but this song+Carrie Underwood = new life

Crazy, I was thinking I want her to sing this! Great minds think alike my friend

Yes!! I can totally see it (actually hear it) all kinds of ninja... I'm already producing the music video and everything in my mind

Yasss 🙌🏻

I heard if you say it out loud enough and send it out to the universe, it’ll happen.

Wow! What a great original "K!" Loved everything about it from soup to nuts! So, whatever happened to that guy with the Saturn? :-)

Always happy to have your support, especially on the originals! The saturn guy... lol, well he is long gone but at least I got a good song out of it

love it... nice song and guitar playing is good also...

Thank you, glad you liked it!

I really like this song! I agree with @meno on this one.

Good to hear :) Thank you!

I agree with your Mom, great song.

Thanks for agreeing! 😊

Great song!, great voice!, great looking!, what else could anyone ask for?... Love it!

ahh thank you @dreamrafa, that’s so nice ;)

This really is a great song. Needs a production version to hit the airwaves!!!
Great job

Thanks @brimax ;) I did record this a couple years ago and it’s floating out there somewhere in the music airwaves. It’s a bit different than how I played it here, but if you’re interested to hear it.. https://www.reverbnation.com/oakcityroots/song/21655357-saturn

I really enjoyed the recorded version, nice acoustic sound and just the right amount of reverb on the vocal. Very nice!

Awesome, glad you like it! That’s a demo I did a few years back, Nice to have good feedback

My pleasure.

Hermosa... Muy bella voz y melodia... Exito.

Muchas gracias @rypo01 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41