Sort:  

Thx, there's some potential there for sure. I wish I didn't choke on my own voice in C1 lol, however it got the point across as a demo. I tend to write a lot of ABC style pop tunes lately.

  • My secret (although Absent from this one) is to usually say the crux of the song right off the top and then go ABC hahah. That's the trick to a good radio song these days IMO.

  • So if the chorus is like ahh: "hold on to glory & right your own story" (lol wow), I might say that line off the top an octave down. It acts as a real short intro, then I'd drop into either an instrumental set up or right into the verse from there.

  • Same with the ending. Pop that crux down the octave or even up right at the end to reiterate the main point so the listener leaves thinking "hmmm yes I understand."

lol so funny to me to see a strategist! I'm a purely intuitive songwriter. I just do what feels right until it clicks into place. But some things to think about :).

I am very much an intuitive for the initial idea(s). I usually just improv something when inspiration strikes and hopefully record it, or write it down close to conception.

Afterwards, I often sit there playing it over and over again trying to hone in on specific aspects like lyrics, chords, melody and song structure. That's where these strategies come in handy sometimes. Many of them have also emerged from imrpov or trial and error moments and I've just remembered how they can assist me when I get stuck or need to continue to work on a song in a very short time frame!

I'm also a composer and have been writing for as long as I've been playing music, so not all that uncommon to employ these kind of tactics especially when writing for specific purposes other than for music's sake. Sometimes the deadline is looming and you don't have the luxury of waiting for inspiration to come or to let an idea unfold at it's own pace ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45