Sort:  

I am very much an intuitive for the initial idea(s). I usually just improv something when inspiration strikes and hopefully record it, or write it down close to conception.

Afterwards, I often sit there playing it over and over again trying to hone in on specific aspects like lyrics, chords, melody and song structure. That's where these strategies come in handy sometimes. Many of them have also emerged from imrpov or trial and error moments and I've just remembered how they can assist me when I get stuck or need to continue to work on a song in a very short time frame!

I'm also a composer and have been writing for as long as I've been playing music, so not all that uncommon to employ these kind of tactics especially when writing for specific purposes other than for music's sake. Sometimes the deadline is looming and you don't have the luxury of waiting for inspiration to come or to let an idea unfold at it's own pace ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42