|| OPEN MIC WEEK 75 || Original Song/Steemit Exclusive & 100th recorded track!

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I went through all of my blog postings and counted up my track submission (video and audio), and it adds up to this being my 100th track shared in the platform since June!

That's somewhere around 400 minutes of music in just a little over 9 months - with a few-month hiatus in there as well!

It is only fitting that it be an original to celebrate.

This song grew out of a couple of separate poetic "bits" I wrote on social media a couple of years back, and which I never intended to use in a song. But when a Steemit friend mentioned he appreciated the lines, I thought to put it into a song.

It ended up articulating something I have often felt in my life, and I thought it would be a welcome comfort to others.

I hope you enjoy my song "March (Keep On)," which got its symbolic title in reference to the month in which it was written, but if you're from anywhere where spring has to fight its way out a bit, it carries a deeper meaning.

Guys, I'm not fancy on here. But I give you my heart and voice in hopes it touches you. Lyrics below.

"March (Keep on)"

Everything that was to be a rest was just a storm
Never found a place where I could lay my breaking bones
Guess we're not to settle where we never did belong
Guess it's onward, onward till we're waking in the dawn

Keep on
Keep on
Keep on
Keep on

Everything unspoken now is speaking loud and clear
The rustling of the soul and the whisper in the ear
Guess it's just a figment that this place could be a home
Guess the heart is made to roam and roam and roam

Keep on
Keep on
Keep on
Keep on

Winter leaves and takes our footprints
Winter leaves and takes our footprints
Winter leaves and takes our footprints
Winter leaves; come, spring; till then

Keep on (winter leaves and takes our footprints)
Keep on (winter leaves and takes our footprints)
Keep on (winter leaves and takes our footprints)
Keep on (winter leaves; come, spring, come, spring)

Copyright 2018.

Available for download on dsound for anyone interested (first, rough draft).
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Follow @kayclarity for music, photos, and writing on art and life. You can help share my work with more of Steemit by resteeming your favourite videos of mine.

I try my best to check out the blogs of many of my upvoters and commenters. I love to see what you're up to!

Sort:  

I hit the play button and an angels voice filled the room with blessings and sunshine. Loved your performance SO much and congrats on writing so much material.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

So glad you enjoyed it so much and it could be a blessing! A lot of the 100 tracks I worked on and posted were covers, but a lot were originals. Would be interesting to tally - I'm guessing about 1/3 or so.

But lots of material.. so far and coming.

You sing so well!
I love your voice.. you sing so perfectly in tune.
So much control.

There was a time, I only dated singers, my mom's a great singer.

Thank you! Glad to hear you enjoyed it so much. I long to one day be a mother remembered by her son as having a beautiful voice :).

Really beautiful voice, I wish I'd been here to upvote you within the 7 days of the post :/ Gave you a follow instead. Keep it up :)

It's funny that you say you're a messy catholic. I guess that's what I am too. Thank you, @kayclarity! You're inspiring.

If you're human and you're Catholic, you are de facto a messy one :). That's my reasoning! Glad to have another one in the club.

What a kind thing to say. Thank you :)

congrats on the 100... and lovely work Kay ! :)

Thanks - on both counts :)

Loved the way u performed.
Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome! Glad you stopped by and enjoyed it!

Melodious tone as always with a nice and sweet lyrics, when God gives us talent it is always good to use such talent to spice up the world in other to put smiles on people's faces. Nice tone and sounds @kayclarity

Thank you! Very happy I can contribute something beautiful to honour the gift :)

Wow 100 tunes that’s epic.

Beautiful voice work on this 1.
Keep on ;)

Bet you're up there, too!

Thank you :)

Beautiful song and gorgeous voice floating over sweet guitar fingerpicking...
🙏🏽🌟

Not sure how I missed responding! Thank you! I loved hearing your voice this morning!

Easy to miss responding sometimes. And...
Thanks so much! Was lovely hearing you on the radio too! 🙏🏽⭐️🎼
(It was so early though. I’ve been feeling like a zombie all day. Lol!)

It's damn good.
Really you're super talented @kayclarity.

Thank you! I so appreciate that. I think you would like the dsound version even better, actually (I do!): https://steemit.com/dsound/@kayclarity/20180305t190110396z-original-song-march-keep-on

Have a good day, and thanks for listening & commenting. Always appreciated.

Dsound version was really better. Loved it.
Thanks for your lovely wish!
Keep sharing such tremendous posts🙌

That's both good and bad :). Hopefully this one resonates with people for this week's Open Mic! All the best :)

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the #artzone tag, and support our artists!,

I love what you guys are doing. Thank you for your support - makes a difference for me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77