Original Song "March (Keep On)" [Steemit Exclusive!]

in #dsound7 years ago (edited)


I wrote the first part of this poem one day a couple of years ago, and the last key line on another day. I didn't think I would ever do anything with either part, but when @brentssanders said the first part resonated when I posted it with a photo the other day, I felt like extending it and putting it to music. It came very naturally in a few minutes.

Again, this is a first draft. I plan to do a better draft later, but I somehow think this first draft with the eerie tone of the poorer mic quality accomplishes something special worth sharing, like the other original I posted a little while ago.

The title emerged from the time of its writing paired with the essence of the song in seasons and the drum beat we all know of carrying on.

IMG_2772.JPG

"March (Keep on)"

Everything that was to be a rest was just a storm
Never found a place where I could lay my breaking bones
Guess we're not to settle where we never did belong
Guess it's onward, onward till we're waking in the dawn

Keep on
Keep on
Keep on
Keep on

Everything unspoken now is speaking loud and clear
The rustling of the soul and the whisper in the ear
Guess it's just a figment that this place could be a home
Guess the heart is made to roam and roam and roam

Keep on
Keep on
Keep on
Keep on

Winter leaves and takes our footprints
Winter leaves and takes our footprints
Winter leaves and takes our footprints
Winter leaves; come, spring; till then

Keep on (winter leaves and takes our footprints)
Keep on (winter leaves and takes our footprints)
Keep on (winter leaves and takes our footprints)
Keep on (winter leaves; come, spring, come, spring)

IMG_2660.JPG



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I like the lyric of the song and your ingenuity in composing such a poetic song. Good creativity

I really appreciate such a kind and thoughtful comment. Thank you!

a lovely composition

Incredible, Kay! Tender, haunting, gorgeous ... Keep on keeping on!

Hope you like Augustine, too. I think you'll find it really interesting. I'm more of an Aquinas girl (you'd like him, too, if given the right context), but Augustine is more of the favourite for most people because he is.. passionate. Nice and messy and dramatic and.. convincing for many. Strangely enough, I like my theologians and philosophers to be a little on the boring side and rigorously structured. The all over the place thing (many famous ones!) isn't my thing.

Right--it's that lonely artist/logical combo we've discussed in the past at work. Very strange.

If you like passion -- and struggle -- read or watch Kazantzakis. Anything of his.

So pleased you like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63476.24
ETH 2487.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68