OPEN MIC WEEK 70 (the proper entry): Surrounded by Chantal Kreviazuk

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

This is the song that got me a gold ticket to Toronto for Canadian Idol's Top 100 when I was 16. More on that another time :). It's my second attempt at an Open Mic entry as for some bizarre reason I said "Week 73" on the last one.

The songs builds slowly, but the best part of the song starts at 3:14. Best to hear the whole song, but sometimes I know you're in a rush on here.

It's actually a very tragic song, about the suicide of her close friend and the effect it had on her. Every life touches other lives so incredibly; we are so intertwined.

I hope you remember today that you are valuable and seen and loved. Don't let the darkness speak too loudly. Hope this is a little light if you're struggling today.

Lyrics below.

"Surrounded" by Chantal Kreviazuk

I was there
When you shone as bright as Bethlehem from afar
I was there
When you were young and strong and perverted
And everything that makes a young man a star
Oh, you were a star

I was there
And I swear to God and on my mother's grave
On everything I have or ever will embrace
I was there
And I saw it with my own two eyes

And now it's all around me, it's all around me
I'm surrounded
And now it's all around me, it's all around me
You surround me like a circle

I was there
Come on, tell me I wasn't worth stickin' it out for
Well, I was there
And I know I was worth it, 'cause if I wasn't worth it
That makes me worse off than you are

It's all around me, it's all around me
I'm surrounded
You know it's all around me, it's all around me
You surround me like a circle

But don't you lose sight of me now
Don't you lose sight of me now

'Cause I was there
When they dropped the bomb
You know I remember the bomb
And I still hear the bomb
And I still fight the bomb
You know I still fear the bomb
You know I still hate the bomb
Sometimes I still get the call

So don't you lose sight of me now
Don't you lose sight of me now

And now it's all around me, it's all around me
I'm surrounded
And now it's all around me, it's all around me
You surround me like a circle

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
P.S. Here is an incredible sunset I got to watch in San Diego, and here is the Phil Collins cover where I messed up the Open Mic intro!

Follow @kayclarity for music, photos, and writing on art and life.

I try to check out the blogs of many of my upvoters and commenters. I love to see what you're up to!

Sort:  

I really like your voice. May be some day we can do a youtube cover together although located on the otherside of the world.

Thank you! Aw, yeah, that would be cool one day! Who knows :)

Brilliant! these days it's very easy by exchanging tracks n videos online. I can take care of video editing n mixing the sound. Lemme know if you ever feel like for a collab for your vocals n my guitar/arrangement for a 2 piece set up simple yet soulful stuffs. Cheers!!

Typing as I listen....
Lovely
you have such a beautiful voice. Thank you for always sharing your talent with us.

:). Thank you, my friend. You're welcome, and I will always be grateful for your encouragement.

I jinn if ya rokker in romanychel cause ya dik it

Could not compute. :)

Sounds great. I already upvoted your last entry. Only 1 per person per week please.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@kayclarity/open-mic-week-70-phil-collins-cover

That's fine - this is my official entry for the contest, as I thought the other one wouldn't work with the mess up! Glad you enjoyed.

"Surrounded" by all these awesome @kayclarity songs. =) thanks for sharing! (Surrounded, not to be meant as the meaning of the song, just a play on the words, meaning all your songs are great)

I feel you, friend! :). So glad you enjoyed!

Thanks for sharing, what a wonderful song. You have a wonderful voice. : )

It is a great song! Thank you for the kind compliment, and for listening in the first place :)

Beautifully sung, well done!

Thank you! I appreciate that. xx, Kay

Nice :) I would wait more your songs ^^

Awesome, friend! :) . Looks like your reputation score is going up fast! :)

oh thanks ! haha :)
yeah i'm trying so hard haha
oh and i would make some own my contents soon ^^
visit me somtimes :)

Very nice. I messaged Chantal on instagram one time, she responded back and seems really cool!

Haha I messaged her once, too, but no response! lol, understandable. Her newest material is amazing - have you heard/seen the video for "Into Me"? Totally stunning!

What's your ID on instagram dear

No wonder, dear I was on idols too. It's a great show. Muah love your music

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62622.35
ETH 2442.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64