OPEN MIC WEEK 71: Fast Car by Tracy Chapman

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

This song feels like an honour to cover.

[If you're only here for a quick stop off, start halfway through - the song takes a bit to build, and I go up the octave. Although of course I think it's worth your time! It's a GREAT song.]

There is no one's voice as heartbreaking as Tracy Chapman's--it's like her heart is pumping up against and right beneath the thin veneer of the notes--and her capacity to relay emotion in her often unassuming and understated lyrics is phenomenal.

So much of her work is pure pain, but somehow also carries this thread of hope--as if her singing the pain out is somehow a bit of a rallying against the despair of so much of life.

In some ways, it's hard to cover this song; this is the kind of song I've always said wasn't even worth bothering to cover; no one can hold a candle to Tracy's. It's like trying to sing Celine Dion; why would anyone ever do that? She wrote it and was always meant to sing it.

Lyrics below.

"Fast Car"

You got a fast car
I want a ticket to anywhere
Maybe we make a deal
Maybe together we can get somewhere
Any place is better
Starting from zero got nothing to lose
Maybe we'll make something
Me myself I got nothing to prove

You got a fast car
I got a plan to get us out of here
I been working at the convenience store
Managed to save just a little bit of money
Won't have to drive too far
Just 'cross the border and into the city
You and I can both get jobs
And finally see what it means to be living

See my old man's got a problem
He live with the bottle that's the way it is
He says his body's too old for working
His body's too young to look like his
My mama went off and left him
She wanted more from life than he could give
I said somebody's got to take care of him
So I quit school and that's what I did

You got a fast car
Is it fast enough so we can fly away?
We gotta make a decision
Leave tonight or live and die this way

So remember when we were driving driving in your car
Speed so fast I felt like I was drunk
City lights lay out before us
And your arm felt nice wrapped 'round my shoulder
And I had a feeling that I belonged
I had a feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone

You got a fast car
We go cruising, entertain ourselves
You still ain't got a job
And I work in a market as a checkout girl
I know things will get better
You'll find work and I'll get promoted
We'll move out of the shelter
Buy a bigger house and live in the suburbs

So remember when we were driving driving in your car
Speed so fast I felt like I was drunk
City lights lay out before us
And your arm felt nice wrapped 'round my shoulder
And I had a feeling that I belonged
I had a feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone

You got a fast car
I got a job that pays all our bills
You stay out drinking late at the bar
See more of your friends than you do of your kids
I'd always hoped for better
Thought maybe together you and me find it
I got no plans I ain't going nowhere
So take your fast car and keep on driving

So remember when we were driving driving in your car
Speed so fast I felt like I was drunk
City lights lay out before us
And your arm felt nice wrapped 'round my shoulder
And I had a feeling that I belonged
I had a feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone

You got a fast car
Is it fast enough so you can fly away?
You gotta make a decision
Leave tonight or live and die this way

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

P.S. If you enjoyed this, you may also enjoy a cover of Sarah McLachlan or the classic Killing Me Softly, complete with a hilarious dance filter.

Follow @kayclarity for music, photos, and writing on art and life.

I try to check out the blogs of many of my upvoters and commenters. I love to see what you're up to!

Sort:  

Love this song and your performance. I got to meet Tracy Chapman and her dog Lucky backstage after her show at the Oakland Coliseum in 1992. She was really shy but very cool and approachable.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

That's amazing! Lucky guy. How were you so connected with all of these musicians back in the day?

I just love her--such a humble and beautiful and suffering person. She felt like a friend growing up - hearing "At This Point In My Life" was such an encounter with human frailty and reality.

I was a recording artist in the 90's doing 300 shows a year and got to meet a lot of people then. Tracy is SO humble. We sat alone backstage after her show, just me her and her dog, and watched John Fogerty play his set which was awesome. She didn't talk much and we just enjoyed the show.

I ran into her again at a resort we were both staying at and she was hanging out with the actor Richard Dreyfuss, who she introduced me to. There we had a chance to talk.

Did you know that when she recorded Fast Car, she could not play in the studio with other musicians? She played alone live too. All the studio musicans played along with her track after she laid down the song.

The producer started with auditioning bass players and after listening to a dozen picked the one that could play the fewest notes possible. Just enough to support the song without distracting from it.

He did the same in choosing the other studio musicians.

Even Tracy had to close her eyes and play the song with just the guitar, imagining she was singing it. Then her voice was recorded with the guitar playing in her headset as she sang to her own guitar track.

Once she laid that down she was done with her work. The rest was studio work. I love the efficiency of working like that.

Pretty awesome story. Have to go read your other post.

That's so cool to hear. That's exactly the way I'd prefer to do things as well - interesting to hear it's been done. I need a good producer who would know how/be willing to work like that. That's how i do it when I do it myself, but for studio quality I would need someone else who gets that and is willing to work within that framework.

She is such a beautiful, delicate person. I'd love to be more like her.

Thanks so much for the comment!

Beautiful cover as usual @kayclarity You really do this song justice. Are you in need of a producer/sound engineer or need tracks mixed and mastered? I know the perfect person :)

I am always open to suggestions/connections. I produced my recent album independently, but am in discussion with several possible studios to find a way to make a great studio record in the coming year or so, and am happy to look into various options :)

That's great to hear. My best friend @edgarstudio is a prolific and super talented producer/soundengineer/singer/songwriter/guitarist/pianist/drummer/emcee he pretty much does it all, has deep professional experience, and yet is really humble and a perfectionist at heart. He would do wonders for the sounds on your tracks. If you have Discord or steemit.chat and you want to discuss more in depth, feel free to connect with me. He really likes your singing and style

I'd totally be interested in hearing some of his work! My biggest obstacle is budget, and so if he's really good, I probably can't afford him haha :). But always happy to connect with other musicians and certainly open!

Thank you, by the way, for the kind words! Always appreciated.

You are very welcome :) Your voice is appreciated as well

I was hoping to see what band your were in in that article! No dice! Any chance you'd share??

Would rather not.

Figured it was intentional, but was worth asking. Too bad.

Amazing!!! I really enjoy your interpretation. greetings and blessings!!!

Thank you! That's so great to hear. So glad you enjoyed, and thanks for listening! Blessings to you, too :)

I never get tired of hearing your #openmic performances. Great interpretation of the song, and as always, you have an incredible voice. Keep it up :)

Thank you! That's very kind, and I am happy you stop to listen often :)

Definitely worth the wait... Great cover, Kay!

Laaaaaaaate on the reply! But thank you, dear sir!

Hey hun this was amazing as always, I love this song and your rendition of it is just awesome.

I was hoping you could message me on Discord I have an opportunity Id love to share with you, it is a little time sensitive - so I hope to hear from you soon.

Cheers <3

Thanks, Krystle! I logged in (first time in 7 months or so). What next?

Hey hun, I think I just messaged you in there :D

Great cover. I'm sure Tracy Chapman would love what you did with her song. : )

Hey @kayclarity,
As I've stated before, you are a top performer and a highly appraised Steemian musician. Your voice truly is a gift.
I have mentioned you in my top judging list for week 71, please be sure to read the full review of everyone here.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-71-original-blog

Great cover. Ever heard of India Arie? She has very honest lyrics, like Tracy, but on the whole, she's -- shall we say -- a bit more uplifting?

And for some reason, your covers remind me of Fiona Apple -- whom I'm sure you know of. Just thought I'd mention that :)

I have! I haven't listened in a long time, but I really liked her in high school. I should revisit!

That's one I haven't heard yet, but yes, I like her! It's funny: basically any prominent female singer-songwriter, especially from the 90s, has been someone I've been told I remind someone of. Pretty cool--I love them all, so it's pure compliment. And I like that it's turning into my own unique mix :)

Which "her" did you mean? India or Fiona? Both are amazing artists, and you should not shy away from comparisons with them. You have great talent and passion yourself, as we can all see and appreciate. Maybe one day I'll be able to turn you on to a great singer you've never heard of :) Until then, keep up the good work, Kay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49