You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OPEN MIC WEEK 71: Fast Car by Tracy Chapman

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Great cover. Ever heard of India Arie? She has very honest lyrics, like Tracy, but on the whole, she's -- shall we say -- a bit more uplifting?

And for some reason, your covers remind me of Fiona Apple -- whom I'm sure you know of. Just thought I'd mention that :)

Sort:  

I have! I haven't listened in a long time, but I really liked her in high school. I should revisit!

That's one I haven't heard yet, but yes, I like her! It's funny: basically any prominent female singer-songwriter, especially from the 90s, has been someone I've been told I remind someone of. Pretty cool--I love them all, so it's pure compliment. And I like that it's turning into my own unique mix :)

Which "her" did you mean? India or Fiona? Both are amazing artists, and you should not shy away from comparisons with them. You have great talent and passion yourself, as we can all see and appreciate. Maybe one day I'll be able to turn you on to a great singer you've never heard of :) Until then, keep up the good work, Kay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67638.45
ETH 2614.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67