Open Mic Week 40: Close to You and a happy, happy girl!

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Freedom is an amazing thing.

Guys, I’ve never felt comfortable just shooting off a cover and sticking it up online. Never. I’ve done it, but only with a lot of planning and making sure it is as PERFECT perfect as can be.




So stressful!

Somehow here I feel supported in a whole new way, and it’s become so easy and fun to throw up a cover on here. I can’t tell you what a difference it is. I can’t really explain the complexities of why I had become so self-conscious recording things and putting them on social media, but I definitely had.

Here there is just so much support and freedom and enthusiasm that it just feels simple and right just to share.

Thank you so much to all of you who have made me feel so incredibly welcome and valued here. It’s been amazing and so encouraging for me in ways I really needed and didn’t know was even remotely possible, much less so accessible. As I wrote in my post earlier today, my fundamental emotional experience regarding the Steemit platform and its calibre people is gratitude and JOY.

Initially, I thought I would only be putting a cover up once a week or so, but it might be up to 3-4 (depending on the week, of course).

Is that too many?

Here is today’s cover—just a fun one!

Hope you like. Let me know in the comments if you do - I love all of your comments! And if you'd like to hear more, don't forget to follow @kayclarity. I try to consistently put out the best content I can for anyone who has taken an interest in my work.




Xx, Kay

Sort:  

WOW, Applause!!
My brother is also a singer/songwriter who I am going to get on this platform if it's the last thing I do :)

A duet with the two of you would be amazing.

That was amazing! I loved it and it's even better that its not all staged out perfect. I will be watching more of you and Im following :)

Ah, thank you so much! Sometimes imperfect is actually just perfect. It's a funny thing. I really appreciate your comment and support! Xx, Kay

Your voice is beautiful as ever..but I really enjoyed watching the passion with which you sing.. Don't be stressed..it was a great video! :))

Ahhh, the 70's! The pinnacle of a cheap energy supply and the culture it created.....

lol I think this might actually be the only song I know from the 70s, aside from the more poetic singer-songwriters (I'm from the hometown of Joni Mitchell, actually.. weird fact of the day)

Another Gem! Thanks for all your hard work..

Thank you so much! Big smile :) xx

Beautiful voice - power to you ;)

Thank you so much. It is so refreshing to have so many supportive people stop by and take time to listen!

You have a beatiful voice. It's awesome you can feel the free-ness to share this. I can understand the pressure that fb, ig, etc has. It's ridiculous. Keep it up. You're awesome!

Thank you, and thanks for taking time to comment. I always appreciate it. And yes.. the other dreaded social media platforms. I know I have to use them as well, but I'm hardly spending even a few minutes on them a day now. What a change! Xx, Kay

Ha! Same here, spend most of my time in this community. And your welcome. :)

Fun for sure... one of my old-time favorites sung exceptionally well!

haha yes I love it. It's not my usual thing, but it's good to have some things to lighten up this sometimes-overly-serious singer-songwriter :). Thanks for your compliment! xx

You definitely shouldn't feel insecure in any way because this was awesome! You have a really great voice :)

That is very kind to say. One of the biggest struggled for me is that often what I have to share feels precious, and with a saturated, not-listening internet culture, it starts to hurt a little too much sometimes. Can't help it--sensitive artist. Just need a break sometimes.. But Steemit is so different. Utterly refreshing!

I'm only just getting wifi, but then will check out some of your videos as well! Xx, Kay

I agree completely. As an artist it is very hard to just put yourself completely out there when people may or may not even be paying attention. Insecurities exist in pretty much every creative individual I know, myself included, and I think it's just part of the process. If we weren't all struggling with something deep inside of us there would be no reason to explore creativity in the first place.

You're voice is beautiful!! Keep it up :)

Thaaaaaaaaank you! I will - with so many lovely people who take the time to comment, it's hard not to, frankly :). Xx, Kay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64526.07
ETH 3116.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55