Steemit Open Mic Week 100: Original Music — Clouds Take on New Meaning

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This song is so pretty. And I can say that without being full of myself because I didn't write the lyrics. ;)

A few days ago, @snook wrote this incredible poem. I was honoured that she asked my opinion on it as a writer, but this thing was gold from the start. What a gift, that you chose to share it here, my friend.

Hopeless romantic that I am, the poem hooked me the first time I read it. And I kept reading it. I may have gushed about how lovely it is, so much that Snook told me to make it into a song. Of course, I did.



source


Putting a non-rhyming poem to music was a fun challenge. It came together in the span of an afternoon while I sat in the yard with my boys. I sent Snook a rough cut with kid noises in the background, she gave it her blessing, and now I get to share it with you!

Love this sweet, sweet song.

line


Clouds Take on New Meaning (poem by @snook)


Find someone your heart meshes with,
A person like no other.
Understanding beyond the average ways.

Take all that you are
In infinite embrace.
Deeper into their world,
Hearts become one.

Exposed, extraordinary feeling never felt.
Clouds take on new meaning.

Accepted for you,
All your divine glory.
Hearts melt, sing; reborn,
Into incredible flight.
Strength taken from light.

Strength taken from light,
Shining down each day.
Centered around the beam.
Bodies entwine.
Words never, in the building of one.

Bask, grow like never before.
Safe in the light once more.

Find Snook's original post here.

line

Thank you for listening!

Massive gratitude to everyone who contributes to Open Mic and the greater collective of creativity on the Steem blockchain. Y’all are inspiring me, and it’s making me a better musician. Not too long ago, my guitars had been forgotten in a closet for literally years (because twins). It feels incredible to be writing this much music and growing as I am... letting my soul sing. You are part of that, and I am grateful.

Whatever happens, keep singing your song. 💖

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @drakos, @guiltyparties, @gtg, @steemgigs, @curie, @lukestokes.mhth, @pfunk, @ausbitbank, @aggroed, @c0ff33a, @noblewitness — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

What YOU did to that poem brought tears and chills to me. I LOVE YOU and the song. I'm so at a loss for words to tell you how proud I am of you and ALL YOU ARE!!!

Thank YOU for bringing life to the poem <3 HUGS

Thank You!!

Thank you! This would actually be a fun one to look at the song structure and play, but I just went and sang it. lol 💖

I know it wasnt easy

Aw, thank you so much! This was fun. And YOU are amazing. So grateful to call you my friend. 💖

Congratulations to you both... I love it... all the best with this lovely collab of two talented ladies!

Thank you so much @yidneth!!

Joining two talents... Delighted

Oh @snook, @katrina-ariel - this is so beautiful. Filled up my heart and my eyes at the same time. Beautiful words and such a sweet voice. Absolutely gorgeous- thank you <3

E x

@tipu upvote this post

Thank YOU! 💖💖💖 Such a sweet comment. This song seems to have touched a few hearts. Glad to share it with you!

Touching hearts... what an amazing gift to have! Big love to you my sweet friend <3

This post has been selected for curation by @isaria and has been upvoted with the @msp-music account as well as the @msp-curation account, and will be featured in @isaria's weekly music curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport community curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us in the Minnow Support Palnet Discord!

Thank you! So appreciated. 💖

@katrina-ariel you did such a wonderful job putting that lovely poem by @snook to music! What great talent you ladies have! You're both amazing! 💜

You're amazing, too. 💖 So glad you enjoyed it.

Love the poem, and love your take in bringing it to song.
Both of you ladies rock!

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a high compliment coming from you, a fellow poet and musician. Thank you so much! 💖

You're welcome! Well deserved praise. ;-)


That deep breath...ya.

so... I guess this means you like it? lol! ;)

Quite the sweet collaboration, indeed. I love it. <3

DP-noisefix-2013-1.jpg

Thanks so much! 💖 And what a sweet, soft cloud gift, too!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

@snook really wrote a great song and you made it even more beautiful with your lovely voice 💚

She really did. Thank you so much! 💖

Thank You!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86