Steemit Open Mic Week 96: "Summer Skin" (Death Cab for Cutie Cover) by @k0wsk1

in #openmic6 years ago


Hey all! Trying something a little different this week - hitting the keys for my Open Mic submission! I'm a guitar player first, but I thought it would be fun to switch it up. I learned this song a long time ago, but definitely had to stumble through it a few times to remember how it goes before I recorded this video. My piano playing skills are rusty, but I think I like this take.

I hope you enjoy my cover of Death Cab for Cutie's song "Summer Skin", from their album "Plans":


(Sorry about the auto-white balance, I gotta figure out how to turn that shit off)

Original Track:

Lyrics:

Squeaky swings and tall grass
The longest shadows ever cast
The waters warm and children swim
We frolicked about in our summer skin

I don't recall a single care
Just greenery and humid air
Then Labor Day came and went
And we shed what was left of our summer skin

On the night you left I came over
And we peeled the freckles from our shoulders
Our brand new coats so flushed and pink
And I knew your heart I couldn't win
Cause the seasons change was a conduit
And we'd left our love in our summer skin

Thanks as always to the amazing staff of the Steemit Open Mic: @pfunk, @luzcypher, @soundlegion, @krystle, @verbal-d, @passion-ground, and @meno! Your devotion to community and music is incredibly admirable, we appreciate you all!

Another huge thank you to everyone that stops by to watch/listen! <3 Long Live the Open Mic!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks as always for the opportunity, Luz & co.! :)

Perfect song for summer lovin'! I closed my eyes while listening to it. I pictured being on the beach with my lover and playing cheerfully while I swim near the ocean with great white sharks. lol! jk! Thanks for sharing your talent mate! 😊

Lol! I suppose it is an opportune time for this tune, isn’t it? Thanks for listening, b :)

Yup perfect timing! Summer is my favorite season. You are blessed with a golden voice. Have you tried auditioning for America's got talent? :)

Ha! Not yet. :) The Steemit Open Mic is more my speed. But thank you for the kind words though!

nice vocals!

Thanks very much!!

Oh yeah man, your voice is perfect for this cover.

Thanks so much, b :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65