Steemit Open Mic Week 108: "Marching Bands of Manhattan" (Death Cab for Cutie Cover) by @k0wsk1

in #openmic6 years ago


What's good everyone! I have another DCFC specialty for the Open Mic this week - a cover of their song "Marching Bands of Manhattan", from their album "Plans". I hope you dig it:

Original Track:

Lyrics:

If I could open my arms
And span the length of the isle of Manhattan
I'd bring it to where you are
Making a lake of the East River and Hudson

If I could open my mouth
Wide enough for a marching band to march out
They would make your name sing
And bend through allies and bounce off all the buildings

I wish we could open our eyes
To see in all directions at the same time
Oh what a beautiful view
If you were never aware of what was around you

And it is true what you said
That I live like a hermit in my own head
But when the sun shines again
I'll pull the curtains and blinds to let the light in

Sorrow drips into your heart through a pin hole
Just like a faucet that leaks and there is comfort in the sound
But while you debate half empty and half full
It slowly rises, your love is gonna drown

Sorrow drips into your heart through a pin hole
Just like a faucet that leaks and there is comfort in the sound
But while you debate half empty and half full
It slowly rises, your love is gonna drown

Your love is gonna drown
Your love is gonna

Thanks as always to the amazing staff of the Steemit Open Mic: @pfunk, @luzcypher, @soundlegion, @krystle, @verbal-d, @passion-ground, and @meno! Big love to you all, and to any other Steemians that happen upon this post :) And of course, best of luck to anyone contributing entries to the Steemit Open Mic!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hey @k0wk1 <3

Wow! Love your voice!!

Good luck on #openmic this week!

Cheers from Brazil 😘

With love,
@trilumia band ✨

Thanks much, friend! :)

Love how soothing your voice is. Great cover! I actually listened to it more than once.

Thanks so much for the support! :D Glad you enjoyed it.

Really great work here

Thanks dood :)

love it, coincidentally yesterday i was thinking how weird it would be to sing about love. not a word i even use very often.

Haha, love songs are hard to write. I've personally never been good at it, it's why I do covers :P

Thanks for stopping by!

Very nice sound bro.

Thank you much m8!

I have already voted for you.
Can I invite you to pay attention to my new project? Resteem and upvote my first post can participate in a 100 STEEM lottery.
Steem Express online | Resteem and upvote can participate in a 100 STEEM lottery

Hi @k0wsk1!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.476 which ranks you at #6624 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 33 places in the last three days (old rank 6591).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 254 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner2.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

❤️❤️❤️

Very nicely done. You channel Ben Gibbard very well! Keep the great songs coming, brother!

Thank you so much! I’ll try :)

I have no doubt that you will. Happy to have discovered you here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05