Steemit Open Mic Week 62 - Don't Wana Be Found - [Original Song]

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Here's another tune written exclusively for Open Mic & the Songwriter's Challenge.

I'm having a lot of fun creating these tunes according to a specific theme and deadline.

Given this week's theme (lost & found), I thought i'd be writing a love song lol...However, I really fought against that and wrote a song about a transvestite instead (j/k). Although it can certainly be construed a such from what i've been hearing haha.

Hey, nothing wrong with a good song about a tranny right!?

Anyways....this tune is actually more about self growth and in may ways, it turned out to be a type of love song... All be it more so to do with loving yourself and letting yourself follow your guts etc.

I definitely pictured this tune having both Male & Female leads who would split the verses and come together in great harmony for the choruses.

ENjoy!



C: Just wana get lost don’t wana be found
Crossing state lines rolling town to town
Don’t wana be found x2

V1: I cut my hair off yesterday
Now I wear it wild don’t care what ppl say
I used to think of home
Now I just can’t look back so I yell out rock & roll

P1: Oh I’m just trying to be free
You make it much harder than it has to be
Oh I’m just a man who lives out of a van
Doing what I please

V2: Yesterday I changed my name
Didn’t like the one I had
Now I go by Mary Jane
Don’t think I’m good or bad

P2: No I’m just trying to be free
You make it much harder than it has to be
Oh I’m just a girl who lives in her world
Doing what I please

B: What’s your problem with me living this way
I’m not asking you to do the same
I just want to be free
Live my life like some kinda freak


JB Lisbon.jpg

jaybird ~

Sort:  

Nice music and good lyrics

oww your music video is amazing.What you are like music?I like music.

Haha that was cool. And I am wasting time here instead in my dark project

Oh, so you think your wasting ur time listening to my song eh 🤔😜

The dark side is so backhanded in compliments lol

ok I am eating the project at the moment .... and listening to your song

Good stuff, man!

You ought to add the lyrics, if you have them written down.

Chin chin... Cheers!

Thx. And yup, I always forget to add the lyrics. Done!

"No I’m just trying to be free
You make it much harder than it has to be
Oh I’m just a girl who lives in her world
Doing what I please"

I love that line ❤
Beautiful song, I am always a sucker for a song about freedom. It reminds my of one of my favorite characters in a book.
Thank you for sharing it, I always enjoy your music.

Haha yea, that line get's a point across for sure. I'm glad it resinates.
It's a Good ol Freedom Song lol.

My Pleasure!

thats really cool! I love the narrative of transformation going on there, sometimes you have to get lost to get free I guess! Great imagination bro..... definitely a super original take on the theme ;)

Thx dude, felt like writing a classic love song was a bit of a cope out for me particularly.. so fought against is a bit in the spirit of it being the songwriter’s challenge ;)

damn straight! We've got to smash the box right open for this one!

Great song for the songwriters challenge. Another top openmic song!! @jaybird you know im a huge fan here, just love you to death. that voice i could pour out in a glass and shoot down like a fireball If i could get you on stage with me. just rockin

haha, never heard it put quite like that before. One day, that would be cool tho B!

Thanks for the kind words!

im just a man livin out a van doin whatever i please'

hehe probably my favourite line..

I wish i could have had you and steembirds both top 5, this song was great bro. I saved the best for last though.

You made it on my Official Judge's Top list for week 62. Read my full review here

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-62-original-blog

Ah no worries, not enough room for em' all unfortuntely. Remember... I'm a judge for Steemit Sandwich Contest! I know the pain all too well lol

Gives you experience for the song you guys wrote cool bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66361.02
ETH 3462.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20