Steemit Open Mic Week 75 - ORIGINAL SONG - Paper Tigers

in #openmic6 years ago

hey Steemians! i've been off radar the last few weeks with a bit of the flu, but i'm getting back into things and this is my submission for the open mic contest this week. i hope you all enjoy it.

it's a song called "Paper Tigers" from an album of the same name that i put out in 2016. the original version is a synth-y, dance-y song but I decided to do a sparse acoustic version for Steemit. lyrics below. if you want to hear the original version, google "hike CDT four minutes" and find a video on youtube by a guy named @halfwayanywhere .... he used my song in his epic hiking video and it's amazing. check it out.

if you like my music or my writing and you want more, then follow me here on steemit @javierdunn or check out my website: http://www.javierdunn.com

love you , steemit! mean it!

PAPER TIGERS (lyrics)

IT’S TAKING ME BACKWARDS IN EVERY WAY
NOW THAT YOU KNOW ME WHAT WOULD YOU SAY
I JUST TOOK ANOTHER ONE
AND I FEEL OK

YOU’RE LEAVING ME SIDEWAYS AND PULLING AWAY
I’M TAKING IN ALL THIS AND I PUT IT AWAY
I COULD TAKE ANOTHER
AND STILL FEEL OK

YOU DON’T HAVE TO FEAR A THING (2X) WITH ME

NO MORE PAPER TIGERS
DON’T BE AFRAID OF SOMETHING YOU MADE UP
NO MORE PAPER TIGERS
DON’T BE AFRAID OF TONIGHT

FINALLY FEARLESS I WANNA SAY
THAT I HAD A VOICE ONCE THAT I GAVE AWAY
BUT I TAKE IT BACK WITH ALL MY LUNGS
OH I CAN BREATHE AGAIN

YOU DON’T HAVE TO FEAR A THING (2X) WITH ME

NO MORE PAPER TIGERS
DON’T BE AFRAID OF SOMETHING YOU MADE UP
NO MORE PAPER TIGERS
I’VE HAD ENOUGH… GOODBYE

GOODNIGHT

Sort:  

@itinerantartist check this out you'll like

thanks @mewnusic ... and super thanks for the share and feature! it really means a lot. happy steeming!

great! I also play guitar and singing: D I congratulate you ... a note here: the guitar is the instrument that is closest to the heart <3

thank you @palmimusic ... what sweet, kind words! thank you for listening and writing to me. i really appreciate it. cheers!

absolutely love the song @javierdunn ! and the title is really quite special to me. its from a quote by Amelie Earhart and one of my favorite quotes in the world. i even wrote a song including it as well, but the song is called Poets and Pilots, since its about tying together my two favorite quotes (which one is by Amelia :))
anyway - great stuff! this made my day!

thanks @itinerantartist ... i actually didn't really know the true lineage of the phrase. i just remember it from growing up, and always liked the imagery of something so seemingly scary yet ultimately harmless and fragile. glad you liked the song, and the title! happy steeming!

So good, man thank you, I could hear a beat along with it in my head. Congrats!

thanks man! i checked out your music too and your voice is great! you've got a new follower! thanks for listening and writing and sharing on here. happy steeming!

This is a beautiful song, mate! I dig it!
A nice steady fingerpicking drive on the acoustic...
And the whole piece touches the emotion button...
Well done!
🙏🏽👍🏾

thank you so much @nathankaye ! that really means a lot. it's my honor to share music with the steemit community. thanks for listening. happy steeming!

Your voice right off the bat! So lovely. Gorgeous.

thanks kay! high praise coming from such a lovely voice as yours. hope you are good!

A nice one! You got me listening until the end.... now I’m curious what it’s about :)

thanks @petrajordan ! it's always a huge compliment when you can have someone listen to a song all the way to the end when they've never heard it before. i appreciate your time and energy. and you've got a new follower too! happy steeming! thanks again!

And the puppies hanging out are very sweet <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66437.76
ETH 3321.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71