Steemit Open Mic Week 70 - original song STANISLAUS

in #openmic6 years ago

Hey guys! Better late than never. This week just got away from me. But here is my last-minute submission for the open mic. week 70. I didn't really want to do it, but all the encouragement i got from you guys last week was really inspiring, and i said i gotta do it. so here it is. have a great weekend everyone! enjoy this sad breakup song! ;)

lyrics:

AT THE STANISLAUS COUNTY LINE
I LEFT MY LOVE IN THE REARVIEW FAR BEHIND
SHE HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS COMING DOWN THE LINE

AT THE STANISLAUS COUNTY LINE
WHO I WAS WAS SOMEONE I DESPISE
SHE ASKED HOW I WAS DOING I SAID THAT I WAS FINE ... I LIED

NEVER KNEW OF A LOVE LIKE THIS
NEVER THOUGHT IT COULD HURT LIKE THIS

AT THE STANISLAUS COUNTY LINE
YOU SPOKE TWICE AND AT ONCE I WAS DEFINED
MAYBE WE WILL SOMEDAY MEET AND FINALLY SAY GOODBYE

NEVER KNEW OF A LOVE LIKE THIS
NEVER THOUGHT IT COULD HURT LIKE THIS

Sort:  

This is beautiful, and gripping from the start. That second last stanza.. perfectly heart-breaking (from a fellow singer-songwriter). I have felt that exactly same thing.

xx,
Kay

Followed because I want to listen to this again! I don't often do that anymore, but you were awesome.

followed right back! your voice is insane! thanks for finding me. you've got a new fan.
cheers,
.j.

thanks kay! that really means a lot that you'd listen and write me. i've only been on steemit a few weeks but this community has really been amazing. folks like you. thank you!

That was my experience early on as well! It's a pretty cool place.

Hope you do well here! And thanks to you as well :). Glad you enjoyed!

And listening again now :)

I like this man. Cool melody, and lyrics. Nice work.

thanks @gjones15 it's a simple little song but i like it too. thanks for listening and commenting! means a lot!

Yeah man, my pleasure! dunno if you saw the one i did but I'd love if you checked it out! Just a jimi cover, but, hey lol. Dunno what i'll do this week yet.. you've inspired me to perhaps do an "original.."!! BUt this was my entry last week "Castles made of sand": https://steemit.com/openmic/@gjones15/steemit-open-mic-week-70

good voice man! sometimes the break up is the best inspiration, keep goin!

thanks @gabs.uni.versos i've definitely gotten a song or two out of a breakup. inspiration is everywhere. thanks for listening! i appreciate it!

Great performance man. I'm from Mendocino in Northern California. I know exactly where Stanislaus is.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

that's amazing! i'm originally from Marin County. It's always nice to get back up there. I saw the "Stanislaus County Line" sign every time I went up the 5 (i'm in LA now) and it had such a nice cadence to it. Wrote the song in my brain while driving (hence it being kind of simple). Funny how songs happen. And when. Anyways, thanks for listening! And thanks for all the work you do. Open Mic is great.

Glad you found us here and thanks for the music. It is funny how song happen, right?

Nice song and performance, man!

thanks @passion-ground .... i really appreciate that. glad you liked it! thanks for commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63605.39
ETH 3470.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52