Open Mic Week 42 - Malevolence - My Original SongsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

When I was in college I was attacked by someone that I knew.
This song is a result of the pain and anger I felt.
Shame, regret, betrayal, guilt, vengeance, and revenge were the ingredients and this song was my cathartic release.

Malevolence


You left me to rot
Drowning in my shame
Remembering those vacant eyes and memories decayed
You can tear into me now
I’m not afraid
My absent soul cannot allow more pain
So I will wait as I wash away
Just another faceless whore who has been betrayed
Poisoned by a stream so vile inside of me
Seeds that sprout a demon’s child screaming to be free
Slithers out and flees
Bringing back your hollow eyes
A sacrifice for me

accent-clipart-13309573511112670181decorative-lines-2_large.png

Thank you for listening and reading!
@isaria

follow tag.png

Proud member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut

New Pal tag.gif

Sort:  

The lyrics are strong while your voice remains soft. I like that combination.

Definitely following for more. Keep posting!

Thank you for listening and for your kind words! :-)

Beautiful song! But most important, beautiful way of releasing those negative feelings that woud've been stored inside to if not released.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment :-)

That's amazing! It has a great guitar part and a beautiful melody. Even the momentary fret buzz adds to the effect (was it deliberate?). I don't listen to many of these entries 10 times!

Oh wow thank you so much Andy that really means a lot to me.
It's so hard for me to post live videos of myself because I'm painfully shy, but reading a comment like yours makes it worth it.
When I was practicing I kept hitting the 5th string too hard during that part of the song so I decided to just keep doing it. :-)

Haunting... as I'm sure your experience shall ever remain... Very well crafted, love your guitar - just wished your vocals would have occupied a more dominant space within the mix... All n' all - GREAT!

Thank you so much for your kind words. :-)

Man this is dark (I understand why). The music, melody....you captured some pain. Well done, good luck this week!

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment. Over the years I've known several people that really don't like this song because it is so dark. I get that.

Sometimes one needs to dig into the darkness to get it. Thanks again for sharing and good luck this week.

Thank you and good luck to you as well :-)

Thank you for taking a listen, I appreciate it.

Very cool, strangely it makes me think of a James Bond movie intro.

I can hear that! Thanks!

Oh I love this and the lyrics are great! Thank you for overcoming your shyness and performing :)

Wow! There are very few songs that immediately make me want to listen again. I just have and I had initially thought the same as some of the other comments about the vocal/guitar mix, however on reflection, I feel it adds to the haunting atmospheric nature of the piece. Terrific contribution to OMW42. 👏👏👏

p.s. I also think it's good to be able to read the lyrics on the open mic originals especially when they are as important as yours.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful and kind comment. It really means a lot to me that you wanted to listen again!
Also, thanks for your comment about the haunting atmosphere, I agree. :-)

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @swelker101 from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Love the individual notes you pluck in time with your voice. Great job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45