Steemit OpenMic Week 90 - Original Song "The Streets of NYC (Hold On)" by Jeff Hightower ( @hornetmusic )

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hey. I'm Jeff Hightower (aka - The Hornet) and this is my first entry into the Steemit @openmic. This is my 2nd week on Steemit and I am still getting the hang of things.

You might know my wife, Serena (@paintingangels). She's pretty persuasive and has (demanded) convinced me to join this contest.

This song is an original song that I wrote called "The Streets of New York City (Hold On)"

I wrote this song on the one year anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center. I dealt with it through writing. And Delta blues gave it the soul I wanted. So, here we go...


The Streets of NYC (Hold On)

Standing on the streets of New York City
I saw the world come to an end
The dirt and the smoke choked us all to our knees
And the blood ran from our hands

Up from the smoke and up from the ashes
One thing stood so very clear
We joined our hands and the blood flowed together
And hope began to appear. Yes it did.

Hold on. Right now it might rain
Hold on. Tomorrow is another day

The numbers tolled and the tears started to fall
But the light refused to grow dim
Tired and weary, bruised and aching
We put the pieces back together again

Hold on. Right now it might rain
Hold on. We can build another day.

You can't break a spirit through flesh and bone
What falls apart now, will stand together as one

Hold on. Right now it might rain
Hold on. Tomorrow is another day.
Hold on. Right now it might rain
Hold on. Tomorrow we can build another day.

Yes we will

Hmmm...


Thanks for listening, and thanks to @luzcypher, all the other judges, @pfunk and all the other fine people who make this contest possible.

Till next time, from the nest...

The Hornet

©2018 jeffhightower
http://jeffhightower.com


I am a proud Helpinaut
DQmNz3p3i1mM4vVBSYqDggf9xJPKbPDvYgsmTHZta9e27xk.png

©Jeff Hightower 2018

Sort:  

Nice sound. I love the slides and how the acoustic sounds like an electric.. 9/11 was a sad day for the world. Welcome to steemit.

Much appreciated. Delta blues are my favorite. And when I wrote it, I wanted feeling for it. And that was the best way I knew how.

Much gratitude to you @papaudeme. That old Washburn and I have been through it all. The deep tone and aircraft cable strings I put on it help with it's distinctive sound. Thank you for the kind words about it.

Welcome to open mic Jeff. Nice slides. best of lucks. The community it creates around the contest is one of the best ways to engage to fellow artists and dreamers. Have fun!! 💚

Aww. Thank you @yidneth. It's really cool being on here with such good people and having a voice. It really means a lot.

Very cool! I like the slide work!

That's so sweet of you @amberyooper. Serena speaks so very highly of you. Your music was incredible. I loved it!!!

Thanks! I appreciate that!

Nice entry, @hornetmusic. I really like the meaning of your song, that day is definitely one of the worst days on Earth! Thanks for sharing. I am looking forward to seeing more entries like this from you. Cheer!

Thank you @lenancie. As a self professed bluesman, I needed to do something. This was the only way I knew to deal with it. :)

Congratulations @hornetmusic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for letting me enter. Really cool that you guys give us this opportunity.

You're one lucky dog, Jeff! Nice maiden entry & original, brother - welcome!... Nice!

Many thanks boss. I’m into that transcendental level of writing. Trying to find that perfect thing. Continual search.

I love some old-school bottle-neck slide blues and you do it justice, mate!
And great to hear an original!
I'm looking forward to hearing more from you, buds!
Blissful blessings and smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

Thank you boss. I’ve also heard you play. Very soulful. Serena let me see some of your videos. Impressive. Your style is tight. Great sound.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67358.72
ETH 2619.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68