stEEmit opEn mic wEEk 95 "She Caught The Katy"/Taj Mahal cover by @gibber

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Long ago when I was in a blues band we made our own arrangement of this classic. It was written about a girlfriend catching the "Katy" which was a train which ran in the Missouri-Kansas-Texas area. You can hear a closer version to the original on the "Blue Brothers" soundtrack as it was one of their favorite songs to perform..... You probably haven't heard it arranged like this unless you saw us live in Texas. My part in this song is pretty basic 'cuz I always had kickass lead guitar players... Have a great week ;9)

My version says "she took the Katy ' ;9)

"She Caught The Katy"
(from "The Blues Brothers" soundtrack)

She caught the Katy
And left me a mule to ride
She caught the Katy
And left me a mule to ride
Now my baby caught the Katy
Left me a mule to ride
The train pulled out
I swung on behind
Crazy 'bout her
That hard headed woman of mine

Man, my baby's long
Great gosh almighty my baby's tall
You know my baby's long
Great gosh almighty my baby's tall
Yeah my baby she's long
My baby she's tall
She's sleepin' with her head in the kitchen
And her feet's out in the hall
Crazy 'bout her
That hard headed woman of mine

Well I love my baby
She's so fine
But I wish she'd come and see me some time
She don't believe in our love, ah
Look whatta hole I'm in
She don't believe what I'm sayin'
Kid look whatta shape I'm in
Huh-huh

She caught the Katy
And left me a mule to ride
She caught the Katy
And left me a mule to ride
Well my baby caught the Katy
Left me a mule to ride
The train pulled out
I swung on behind
Crazy 'bout that hard headed woman
Hard headed woman of mine
Huh-huh, huh-huh

ani gif courtesy of: giphy
lyrics courtesy of: A-Z Lryics

Sort:  

I totally love that song, the lyrics, the groove and the aug 4th, which gives me the musical chance to sing/laugh, I can't wait to play it again with a band in a smoky bar room where the girls are sometimes seen dancing with a beer on their head.... yeppers! that's what it all about brother... have a great week ;9)

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Wow! Thank You so much for dropping by and giving me the upvote... it was such a pleasant surprise ;9) Have a great week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36