Open Mic Songwriters Challenge Week #1

in #openmic6 years ago

Open Mic Songwriters Challenge Week #1

Hello my fellow Steemians,

This is my entry for week 1 of the open mic songwriters challenge

The theme was 'Broken Mirror'


Big thanks to @luzcypher and @meno for making this happen.


Here are the lyrics.

Fall Apart

Verse1
You smashed me like a broken mirror
I fell apart in shards of glass
The more I think the more it's clearer
bound to fail right from the start

Verse2
I should have known you were a killer
Collecting hearts like a psychopath
chance for survival is getting slimmer
We love ourselves In the aftermath

Chorus
Lift me up and let me fall
Put me down I'm standing tall
Way past caring, Nothing at all
No-thing at all

Verse3
Now you're calling me the sinner
But we both know there's nothing wrong
In this game there is no winner
Broken hearts in a broken song

Chorus
Lift me up and let me fall
Put me down I'm standing tall
Way past caring, Nothing at all
No-thing at all

Lift me up I'm standing tall
Put me down, let me fall
Way past caring, Nothing at all
No-thing at all


Hope you like it

Until next time

Lots of Love

Geena


Sort:  

I hope you take this like a compliment, because its meant as one... your music always had that tender/dark element to it. It's hard to describe...

loved your entry!

Thank you so much, yes I take it as a compliment, I'm having fun with a bit of morbidity but in real life I'm quite the happy person so maybe that's how I release my dark side ;)

yesss! I love the way mirror, killer and sinner all rhyme. Was that on purpose? It really helps to cement the first line of each verse with a really familiar feeling. Lovely song :) x

Thank you so much for your kind words, the almost rhyme wasn't planned but when I thought about them it felt the right word to put there, if you know what I mean, my songwriting is very intuitive and I don't analyse too much when I write.

Nice song. Thanks for entering.

So good! loved it! <3 how long did it take you to write it?

Thank you! How long? Hard to say a couple hours here and there but it came together pretty quickly, let's hope the rest of the challenge runs that well, too 😉

yeah, i am thinking the same.. since i am not very good to come up with songs out of the blue... i have an emotional reason to do so..so, we'll see how it goes.
That's what i like about this challenge ... it is pushing me a little... :)

this song is so lovely wow!

beautiful! congrats

I love these lyrics!! By the way is that an ES-335 in the background?

Thank you! Oh man I wish it was a Gibson, I could only afford a cheap copy! But once I make it big here on Steemit (lol) I'm defs gonna get one! Listened to your new single by the way! Loved it!

I really love your finger work on the guitar and for some reason, your voice is a massive comfort to me. My mum has a similar singing voice so it's really lovely to hear!

Thank you, coming from the girl that has such a goosebumps creating voice, that's a big compliment and yeah haha, maybe that's just a mum voice! ;)

Ahh that's so lovely of you!! Haha it's not just a mum voice, my mum is a wonderful singer like yourself. There's something very soothing and comforting about it so I will definitely be listening to all yours songs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68797.43
ETH 3730.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76