Steemit Open Mic Week 73: Original Song - I Don't Know Anything

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

<a href='

This is my first open mic entry. Here's a performance of an unreleased new song that I'm planning on putting on my new record. I haven't posted a full version anywhere else on the world wide web, so enjoy a first listen Steemians! Lyrics below.

Look at that moth in the streetlamp glow
It's a shooting star if you blink at it slow
You got out the car and pointed below
Roads like rivers of people we'll never know
And who would want to know us anyways?
I laugh, but I laugh at everything you say

I woke up pushing through some kind of white noise when you called
Going on and on in the parking lot of some strip mall
You are the break of dawn that hit me in a chapel hall
You know everyone and everything as a wall
But I don't know anything at all
I don't know anything at all

You gave me some money and a night of my own
I said 'thank you a lot, I'll spend it alone'
I feel years behind the people in the places I go
So much I could say so much I should know
And who would want to see me anyway?
You laugh, but you laugh at everything I say

I woke up pushing through some kind of white noise when you called
Going on and on in the parking lot of some strip mall
You are the break of dawn, a spotlight in a concert hall
You know everyone and everything as a wall
But I don't know anything at all
I don't know anything at all

We're up in a plane looking down
The ants in our floorboards
Are people in their little towns
I don't know why they stay
I don't know what they've found
We don't really keep much of anything but alcohol around
There's gotta be a number we can call
There has gotta be a number we can call
There's gotta be a number we can call

But I don't know anything at all
I don't know anything at all

Copyright 2018, Emily Keener


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is really nice, where can I catch you live? So good!!

Thank you! I'm currently residing in Cleveland and play fairly often in the area however I often tour into other regions, so please check my Facebook page or website for current show dates. Thanks for asking!

Official Site: http://www.emilykeener.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EmilyKeenerMusic

Hey @emilykeener Please replace your DTube link with one from YouTube. The DTube link doesn't embed like a YouTube link will and the judges won't count your entry. I'm just another openmic-er, but I'd hate to see a popular entry disqualified for missing these details. Good luck, and welcome to Open Mic!

Thanks for letting her know about the link. She won by the way!

Thanks for helping out with that! I was wondering as well.

Thank you do much for the advice. I've updated the link.

There's a lot to learn here, yall. Ive gotten lots of helpful advice and suggestions. Pay it forward!

Really enjoy your song writing and look forward to hearing more. Please do more open mikes

Post the chords from the intro! Such a good progression :D

Edit: holy fuck I think this my new favorite song. Can't wait to hear a studio version.

Thank you, so kind!! I'll see if I can find some time to draw up a tab. I don't usually chart out my music. I'd post it right now if I had anything lying around!

Great first entry and wow! What a hypnotic performance. You had me at hello!

Steemit_Open_Mic_Winner.png

Steemit Open Mic Week 73 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

Thank you so much, I'm so thankful to be second place this week!! Really appreciate you listening and adding such kind comments.

Sweet performance @emilykeener, you can sing so well
I mention you in my judge's top list for week 73.
Check this to read the full
review here

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-73-original-blog

Thank you so much!!

wow, it is great :). great song

Congratulations @emilykeener, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 14329 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3412.27. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I'm so stoked you are here! This new song is another great direction with your songwriting.

Great songwriting , and singing so delighted to be competing with you , would suggest you to replace dtube video with a youtube one to avoid disqualification
https://steemit.com/openmic/@ayushthedreamer/open-mic-week-73-maeri-coke-studio-arijit-singh , do check out mine

Thanks for the helpful information. I'm glad we look out for each other here esp when we just start out on this platform. So much to learn here... I love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54