Open Mic Week 73 Maeri(Coke Studio)- Palash Sen

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys this is our entry for Open Mic Week 73 , We are submitting our entry for any competition the very first the moment was nervous as fuck , please cut us some slack .

First of all I would like to thank my dearest friend @soundwavesphoton for telling me about Steemit Open Mic. 


This is probably one of few non english songs submitted , so allow me to translate the lyrics first

 http://lyricstranslate.com/en/maaeri-ma.html#ixzz57gM7cron

You forgot me
I Forgot defeat and victory
Oh ma what shall I do, I gotta win you!
My heart doesn't accept, my friend
When she wore her bindi my eyes throbbed
Her drape (chunni) promised me many tomorrows
Her hand was in my hand
Every word of hers was sweet.
Ma, you were the laughter
Oh Ma I remember her
She slays me, she stays in my eye
Oh Ma I remember her.
Oh Ma

Wet in the rain,she'd come walking
If I get late, she cries softly
Now should I cry again , that she's gone again
She becomes like the cool breeze around me
Oh Ma! My diamond like songs! Oh ma! Songs and ballads
Oh Ma, I remember her
You look like heaven, I pray that I get you
Oh Ma, I remember her

Now what shall I do, who shall I cry to, oh Maa!
Now what shall I do, who shall I cry to, oh Maa!
Oh ...
Leave the world and come away with me!
Lose your false relationships and come away with me
Listen, you little piece of god! Come away just once
Because, if we meet, we'll never separate.
Never separate ... never separate ... oh

If you're there, come, someone bring her!
Oh Ma, I remember her
You slay me! you stay in my eyes
Oh Ma, I remember her
You forgot my love, oh ma! It feels like four months ago..

Lyrics  taken from here

 The song opens with a sufi line. It is always hard to capture the sufi sentiments in English, for these talk of mother and father, beloved and friends as both their human manifestations and the universal mother, father or beloved, using subtle wordplay and duende. My translation aims at providing a lyrical transliteration of the song .
thanks @pfunk and @luzcypher for organising this

Sort:  

Very decent entry. Its cool listening to this Indian/Sufi song.

Ok...Don't know...where to start from...!!!... I am so very deeply touched by the so wonderful, so melodious and truly soulful rendition ! You are way too good! Ayush! & on the top you were just so brilliant with the guitar! I am in absolute Awe!...even while writing this...! The sound of your music is still in my ears...& mind !
Honestly!...heard the complete song...one of my favourites..by palash sen, and you just nailed it...absolutely!
I enjoyed it thoroughly! & you sang like a Pro! You should/must explore this genre, more!!!
This is for you! 💐 🌹 🌺 🌼 🌷 🌹💐

Good Luck & Much Love!

wow... this is cool.

Aw yay! Awesome 😁💞

YO, AYush got the fire !RESPECT!

NICE 1 bro keep it uup :)

Nothing wrong with submitting a non-english song. By sharing music you share a part of your culture. Great song.😊
Told you it was a good idea to enter. Good luck. 🙏

What beautiful lyrics and skillful singing/playing the guitar. I'm not sure why you asked to be cut some slack. This is a great entry! Wishing this entry lots of success! Wish my vote was more than a penny because this post deserves a generous payout, imo.

your friend is an impressive singer, good job!

he is just awesome ... why don't you ask him to join steemit??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58786.64
ETH 2309.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49