Steemit Open Mic Week #86: Children Of The Night (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This song began as a sketch of a young girl saw wandering around my apartment complex years ago. She looked bad. Obviously not in a good place in life. When I went to find her to see if she was okay, she was gone. From there, it grew into descriptions of young people who had gone in directions that I would think would have caused concern for their loved ones. I don't offer solutions in this song...mainly because I don't have solutions. I think the point is...don't let them slip by unnoticed. Be aware of these children, and if we are in a position to help, then maybe we should at least try. I could most definitely do a better job of doing so. This song reminds me of that. And it reminds me of what it feels like to be lost.

This song is a departure for me. It sometimes feels unfinished, and then it sometimes feels exactly as it should be. It's darker than what you'll usually get from me, but it's also important to me that it be this way.

CHILDREN OF THE NIGHT
Words & Music by DINO ROMANELLI

She was just fifteen
And living on the street
She'd sleep with anyone who'd let her crash
And give her food to eat
She liked to stay up every night
And pummel speed into her brain
She didn't give a damn
And hoped that she would go insane
She left her folks behind her
In the days last fading light
And hit the streets to join up
With the children of the night

Johnny ran scared
From his daddy one day
He took off for the state liner
In a stolen Chevrolet
He took his father's beatings
From an early, early age
He ran off on his own
Filled up with his own kind of rage
With his daddy's stolen pistol
He felt ready for the fight
He hit the road and joined up
With the children of the night

Billy and Angie
Shared a special kind of love
The way their parents kept them down
They felt they'd never rise above
Her daddy said girl,
You'll never see that boy again
What you're doing with your life
Well it ain't nothing but a sin
They took off one night together
And they headed out of sight
And loved each other out there
With the children of the night

© Affordable Music, BMI

Sort:  

Dino, your ability to craft a song brings me to my knees. The darkness here, a reflection of real life. These poor lost children and tortured souls.. and lovers gone away to be left alone and comforted by each other. It's just so much to take in at once, but you make us do it, and you deliver it apologetically, as you always do and always should.

I am so blessed to be sitting here now and hearing your songs. I am exactly that, I am blessed. Even more than being blessed to be able to hear your music, I am blessed to be lucky enough to call you one of my very dearest friends in all of life. That's the greatest blessing of all. ♥

Hi dinoromanelli,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

I just would like to say to the @curie folks, you are appreciated! I am so proud to see this song be curied.. it is kickass, and I was so hoping that it would be rewarded. ♥ Good job, Curie! I would curie CURIE if I could curie Curie. Also I would curie this song, but now i don't have to. It's done! Yay!♥

Congrats for both me and u, @dinoromanelli. Ur work derseves Curie love. I really really love this song. Can’t stop playing it again and again. Keep creating more creative stuff on this platform! Awesome!

tremenda tu presentacion hermano aqui mi apoyo

That song was really well written! I agree, it's a little darker than what I've heard from you so far, but that's ok, it's good to expand into other subject matter sometimes. You go where the muse leads...

I love the guitar intro... You play the guitar so beautifully... And your vocals great as usual... Such a sad story though
:(

Ohh it's a sad story!!!!

Very good interpretation and execution of the guitar. excellent talent

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43