Steemit Open Mic Week 80: Picture On The Wall

in #openmic6 years ago

An original song, written and performed by me. I hope you enjoy!

Mirror-Mirror-on-the-Wall_38549032-750x485.jpg

PICTURE ON THE WALL
(Dino Romanelli)

Turn about is fair play
But did you have to turn about and run away
Nothing more that I could say
'Cept couldn't you have waited just another day

I keep hearing footsteps in the hall
And I keep waiting patiently for you to call
I wasn't very well prepared for this to fall
And I still keep your picture up on the wall

Throw my hands up in the air
Try to figure out a way that all of this is fair
Had it figured we were quite a pair
But who am I to say
And, dammit, did you ever really care

I keep hearing footsteps in the hall
And I keep waiting patiently for you to call
I wasn't very well prepared for this to fall
And I still keep your picture up on the wall

So confused, oh what to do
Should I fight it out
Or take it that it's really through
Ain't no sense in any feeling blue
In fact, I very rarely ever think about you

I keep hearing footsteps in the hall
And I keep waiting patiently for you to call
I wasn't very well prepared for this to fall
And I still keep your picture up on the wall

©Affordable Music, BMI

steemit_open_mic_week_80.png

Sort:  

Story in a song. Not enough music like this anymore. Enjoyed your jam! keep posting more!

Good luck Dino, lovely guitar! Wishing all the first. Serena, I count as second lol ;p
Hail to those mp3.com times!!! We have all gone away and back. I really love the guitar. All the best!

Is this a friend of yours? This was such a great song and performance.

There is a little amazing story here... Dino Romanelli, Serena @paintingangels and me were usuals in a platform that shared music online (mp3 dot com back in the time). It was a time before myspace, facebook, or networks. It was an interesting experiment the page would place independent music on supermarkets and planes and such and we would be paid per play, quite innovative. It was bought by a big company and all that vanish into think air, giving birth to myspace afterwards. So almost 2 decades later we have found all each other on steemit :) and it's just nice we are still into music with our dreams standing. ! :) I just saw his song was curied ! wee congrats!

I love stories like this. I've lost two close music buddies I'd known for 20+ years, we'd lost contact, then once back in touch both unfortuntely died shortly after in the past year. Both knocked me sideways. So to see a heart warming story like this great. 🙂

aww sorry for your loss... and cheers to re-encounters

Thanks I count myself very fortunate to have had re-encounters before it was too late. 🙂

I saw he was curied as well, so deserved! Our genres of music are so often underappreciated so I was a bit worried he'd be overlooked but I'm SO HAPPY he is cheered just as he should be!! And @yidneth I miss mp3 dot com SO MUCH. Steemit/Discord is a pretty good comfort lately, though. ♥

Awesome, brother! I thought this was a classic that I hadn't heard before - then I discover it's yours... Wow - great song, man!

I thought the exact same thing bro, wow beautiful song

Congratulations! Love your performance and look forward to hearing more.

Steemit_Open_Mic_Winner.png

To see the top 5 winners click here ==>Steemit Open Mic Week 80 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

This makes me so happy!!! ♥

Loved it, the guitar work is really cool and the vocals fit perfectly ;9)

I really enjoyed the song the more I listened to it. You started a bit shaky for me but you came back strong. Happy I listened to the end. Thanks for sharing.

Yep, now I was your first comment! Had to take care of that!! Ha! Anyway my brother I am so happy you came to steemit and so happy we are still friends after all these many years. Time really gets away, doesn't it? I get all weepy thinking about it!

This song is so pretty. And I know you feel it. Through all the pain there come's a song, yes? At least there is that. Beautiful song. ♥

I so very much love to watch you play, always have always will. I love the tone of your guitar, too! What kind is it?

I hope everyone takes time to listen to your performance and will see the same things I see!

I hope you keep entering every week!! I will bug you, of course!
:D

Dino! I'm your first comment on your first open mic! Unless someone beats me to it while I'm typing this. ACtually, now I'm worried. CLICK.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63877.76
ETH 3093.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83