Steemit Open Mic Week 77 "Rolling Stones"- Original Song with @sdkelly

in #openmic6 years ago

Recently I visited my sister Sarah, @sdkelly, up in Massachusetts, USA, where we played a couple of shows, sang together on #mspwaves radio's Sounds of Steem 2 hosted by @isaria, @krystle, and @aggroed, and also recorded this song for open mic week 77.

It's about prevailing love, and was written the year that two of my older sisters celebrated 25 years of marriage, and my parents celebrated 50 years.

My parents have almost nothing in common in terms of interests, and even at times, their outlook on life, but somehow they've their relationship work, and it's a hilarious and beautiful thing to watch, so this goes out to them.

Thank you @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, @verbal-d, and @meno for all of your hard work, and to @luzcypher and @pfunk for sponsoring open mic.

And my apologies to @meno, who convinced me just last night that our real lives and life here on steemit are pretty much one in the same. (I made this video and introduced my sister before learning this!)

Lyrics:
25 years of your rock and roll
25 years and you've got my soul
Between the two of us we make a whole
You've got to do what you've gotta do
To survive

And rolling stones they roam and roam
And love is gonna find them and bring 'em home
And rolling stones they roam and roam
And love is gonna find them and bring 'em home

25 years of your fire and ice
Day and night and your advice
25 years and it's been so nice
You've got to say what you've gotta say
To survive

And rolling stones they roam and roam
And love is gonna find them and bring 'em home
And rolling stones they roam and roam
And love is gonna find them and bring 'em home

25 years well that ain't so long
My folks went 50 and they're going strong
So here's to 50 more that go on and on
You've got to be what you've gotta be
To survive

And rolling stones they roam and roam
And love is gonna find them and bring 'em home
And rolling stones they roam and roam
And love is gonna find them and bring 'em home

Well love is gonna get you, love is gonna get you
Love is gonna get you and bring you home
Love is gonna get you, love is gonna get you
Love is gonna get you and bring you home

Sort:  

This is really great, you two! Love everything about it. Fantastic sibling collaboration! NICE!

Thank you very much @passion-ground! It sure is fun to sing with her.

Very cool tune and the harmony work so well! Kudo to the sista!

Sounds really good you guys.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks @luzcypher! Hope you're having a good week!

Love that harmony only found in a choir or a family. Great tune!

Sounds like a nice front porch song!

I stopped by to say thank you for supporting my Fork In The Road post and as soon as I got here, it became a lot more. Amazing talent you've got here. Thanks a lot for the support and thanks even more for sharing your talent with us!

Thanks for sharing @dandays! keep up the good work! :)

I just love your music, mate. And I'm so jealous that you have such a wonderfully talented musical family to play with!!!!
This is great!

I appreciate it @nathankaye! Congrats on week 77. It's a great tribute.

Your sister's doing great, but somehow I get the feeling she's not comfortable in front of the camera. Best wishes. Resteem

Thank you @markus.light. I definitely talked her into the video, and I think you may be right. It can be pretty weird singing to a computer in an empty room.

Ha! You're not wrong @markus.light! Need to get used to this Open Mic thing. Thanks to @danieldyemusic for letting me join him!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25