You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 89 - Improvised Suite for Singing Bowls, Cello and Bass

in #openmic6 years ago

This is absolutely gorgeous.

Cello has long been one of my favorite instruments, my dad (jazz pianist) played with a succession of outstanding upright bass players, and I love the singing bowls as well.

My only singing bowl is a small traditional one from Tibet, but it has amazing resonance, and is tuned to the heart frequency. But I love the large glass bowls as well.

A friend of mine in South Carolina, Scott Kennedy, used to put on concerts with his wife Anne at Sacred Lands, in Seminole, Florida, using a large collection of singing bowls, gongs, and a variety of concert bells and percussion instruments.

Their concerts were performed in a large domed greenhouse, which provided surprisingly exceptional acoustics, and an intimate feel to the concerts.

I bought a couple of excellent gongs from Scott that I still have and use. He used to make Native American flutes from a varity of materials, including bone, but I don't believe he does so any more.

The place has amazing energy and I strongly recommend a visit if you visit central west Florida; Sacred Lands is right on the Gulf, just south of Largo and Indian Rocks Beach. Beautiful place, with incredible energy, and wonderful people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62829.19
ETH 3026.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61