Steemit Open Mic Week # 57 - Closer by the Chainsmokers ft. Halsey (Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

57C92B07-FF13-4ECF-80A3-9A77C6F9CE28.jpeg


Every week I try to do something a little different for open mic - whether it be playing a different instrument, including someone else, or changing up the location. This is my first outdoor recording session! I am lucky to live so close to the water and decided to capture a sunset recording.

It took a little time to scout a good location because all of the parks on the water were busting at the seams with people enjoying the rare sunny fall day. Recording myself in front of others makes me a little self conscious (for some reason... it would be WAY easier if I was singing with someone else!) but I also didn't want the background noise interfering with the audio. I decided to start taking some back alleys and came across a public boat launch that was pretty secluded.


7B813FA5-8997-4C5B-8A30-06989C2E706D.jpeg

There was one guy taking his boat out with a guitar, a basket of wine and cheese and his cute little pup to enjoy the sunset. That sounds like a pretty perfect evening to me! The water was so calm that I almost wished I had brought my stand up paddle board to get out and enjoy the pink hues shining off the water.

This really was a beautiful location - the sun setting on the water in one direction, and a beautiful view of the small town of Fairhaven in the other direction. While I was down there with a tripod, I snapped a few shots. Not the highest quality photos, but i'm planning to upgrade my setup soon to capture photos that have more depth and can tell a stronger story.

It's funny, because I do some freelance modeling on the side - but i'm just learning how to take my own photos - and it is definitely out of my comfort zone!

8E5C8448-20C6-45E9-B4C4-A86077DDF478.jpeg


Doing open mic every week has really pushed me both creatively and vocally. I found Closer to be challenging from a vocal perspective and would say this very much feels like a "work in progress". I am considering taking vocal lessons to help improve my control and pitch. The only formal vocal training I've had in my life was high school choir... which doesn't really include a lot of personal instruction.

Has anyone in the open mic community taken vocal lessons before? I'd love to hear if you had a good experience and maybe any tips you have on finding a good vocal coach.

Cheers and love!

Sort:  

I'm glad to hear Open Mic is pushing you to create more. You have a lovely voice and should keep singing. Singing every day will change your life for the better. Thanks for sharing.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Such a good point. I have a friend at work that I play ukulele with on our lunch breaks. We play almost every day and it’s pretty amazing to have a music break like that!

Hahahaha, super location indeed! Cool to see and hear you playing the mini guitar. You have a wonderful voice! Keep on doing the special things for us.

Thanks @qsounds! Although the location was indeed beautiful... it was also super COLD! By the end of a few takes, my fingers were so cold that I missed a few notes towards the end and just pretended I meant to create a more dramatic moment by thumping on the uke. LOL

Thanks for your support!!

Hahahaha, you see, nobody sees that! That is still to be invented, feeling the temperatures and smelling the smells. I would not have thought it would be that cold, but than again, it can be 20 degrees celcius below zero on a sunny day :) Great you still have your fingers!

Location, location, location! Very nice performance! If I performed at the beach here I think the wind would play havoc with the recording haha well done again :)

Thanks @fred101! I was lucky to get a super calm night, or else the wind would ruined the audio for sure.

Great job on the song. I've never taken vocal lessons, but have known many folks who have and even the bet singers benefit from the improved breathing and all that.

Thanks @lk666! I think your right that there probably isn’t a down side to taking vocal lessons... except maybe the cost? I’ll have to shop around. 😉

wow! you play that cute instrument with your lovely voice awesome., I have my entry too mam., but not as good as your entry..

Thank you! I'll definitely have to go check out your submission, too. That's one thing I really love about the open mic community... everyone is so supportive of each other. :)

Nice song, beautiful singer, wonderful scenery...

Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed the recording. 😊

Super song. Perfect performance!

Thank you! 😊

owwwwwww i like ur ur ur ur voice cutipie :P

Hello !!!!!! :D

Follow me please !.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85