Crepes and Sunshine - Saturday Breakfast Adventures

in #food7 years ago

I love eating out for breakfast... especially on a lazy Saturday morning.


Don't get me wrong, I love cooking breakfast too, but there's something about just walking out the door and letting someone cook you a delicious meal. Breakfast is probably my favorite meal to eat out because I love ALL breakfast food. Bacon, eggs, pancakes, sausage, bagels, coffee... I see nothing to complain about here! It also tends to be more economical to eat out for breakfast compared to dinner.

The sun was shining and @raised2b and I decided to head down to a little french bakery and cafe for breakfast.

423395BC-86BC-44D4-8238-118B7472CC36.jpeg


The shop is called The Mount Bakery and specializes in croissants and crepes. Their name is derived from a local landmark - Mount Baker. This mountain is a popular spot for hiking in the summer and snow sports in the winter. It has a demanding presence in the skyline and is actually an active volcano. But I won't get into that here.


766837E5-4519-4648-9BE7-35A00E810BC8.jpeg



EE52FA14-6257-4FD9-9AD5-5A57E96E80CE.jpeg


You are immediately greeted by a case of fresh pastries.



I had to resist the urge to order five pastries immediately. Especially since they have the best cinnamon rolls in town. They still aren't my perfect cinnamon roll, but i'd give it solid 8.5 out of 10. I'm really picky when it comes to cinnamon rolls. For me, a perfect 10 would have a soft and flaky dough with plenty of cinnamon sugar, pecans, and a cream cheese frosting that is thick and not too sweet. The Mount Bakery is almost there, but they don't have walnuts and they only put a tiny amount of frosting on the roll.

I decided to save room for breakfast though instead of filling up on cinnamon rolls before we even got seated.



C25EDA89-339B-4AFE-B583-AC949C0A2DAC.jpeg


The cafe boasts bold, brightly colored paintings on the wall.



I absolutely loved the commanding presence these large paintings had. It was almost impossible not to be happier after looking at them because of the brightly colored, vivid illustrations. I tried to take note of the artist, but I did not see his/her name posted anywhere - which is rather odd. Most restaurants that display local art will list the artist and their contact information for those interested in inquiring a piece. Given the size of these paintings, I'm sure they are quite expensive and out of my price range. Still, it would have been nice to give credit to the artist here.


F478CD69-1788-4FB6-93B4-DD57F39C0B9D.jpeg


A85EEC2B-9912-489D-ADE8-1DADA4515AC5.jpeg



B9D8EF26-4B6A-45DA-B594-5FACD97637C8.jpeg


Like any responsible adult... we ate dessert first.



The Mount Bakery makes everything from scratch - including some pretty amazing lemon curd. I have been wanting to try their lemon curd crepe, and so we ordered it "to start" as an appetizer. It did not disappoint! I guess you can't go too wrong with a crepe filled with lemon curd and served with fresh whipped cream and blueberries. The whipped cream was made just how I like it - not too sweet. It helped to give the dish a creamier flavor and mellow out the tartness of the lemon, without making it overly sugary.


82156DA4-2366-4784-B0B4-F4683D9CB596.jpeg


Now for something savory...


The Mount Bakery basically has two breakfast options - a list of crepe variations and a list of eggs benedict options.

Apparently I hadn't gotten my crepe fix yet, because I ordered their sausage and egg breakfast crepe. It had sausage, egg, swiss cheese, and an herbed cream cheese. The combination was delicate and creamy, which complimented the strong flavors of the sausage.

@raised2b ordered their traditional ham benedict. Oh, except it is served on a Belgium waffle. Yeah... you heard me right. If only i'd had enough room in my stomach to order one of their Belgium waffles. It is a truly beautiful dish. You get a fluffy waffle the size of your face served with fresh fruit, whipped cream, and their homemade chocolate ganache.




Someone was a little happy after breakfast this morning...


Until the food settled in and I just wanted to lay on the couch for a bit and chill.

See earlier reference today being a lazy Saturday morning... :)


706D8068-B15E-4A57-91B8-E9C47D675DD3.jpeg


Our breakfast experience ended by walking outside to this lovely view of downtown Fairhaven. It's a cute little town with old brick buildings and carefully curated shops and restaurants. On a clear day like today, you can easily see the water and some of the distant mountain ranges.


B8FC4640-0EFA-4D3B-9E93-1881E2B65238.jpeg

Thanks for taking the time to look through my post. I hope you enjoyed going on a little food adventure with me. <3

Sort:  

If this is breakfast, I would like to see the lunch . :)

Funny you mention that, because I don’t think I’ve ever had their lunch! I enjoy their breakfast so much that I usually just go for that. I think their lunch menu has a bunch of sandwiches on homemade bread and some additional crepe options. I’ll have to try it out sometime!

I find very logical not to ever had their lunch. Try it and keep us posted. :)

Hehe will do! They have another location in the downtown area that is really charming. Maybe I’ll have to grab some lunch there someday soon and do a post on that!

The place looks so lovely, vibrant and enjoyable in general. I bet the food was amazing as a lot of bakeries tend to have some amazing kitchener buns, donuts, berliners and more.

Agreed! Bakeries often make great little eateries with lots of dishes made from scratch. I have to admit, I didn’t know what a Berliner was and had to look it up. I am far too familiar with donuts though... hehe. Berliners look amazing!! If I ever see one in a bakery, I’ll have to try one out.

I was about to have a midnight snack here, but your food pics make my snack options here look like cardboard. Too good.

Too funny! I think midnight snacks are meant to be quick and easy snacks anyway. That’s why I can’t keep cheez-its in the house anymore... I’d have “midnight snacks” all day long. 😜

wow soooo tasty can i take one piece hehhe :P

Haha glad you enjoyed the post! Not to rub it in, but I actually have some leftovers from the sausage crepe that I’m about to heat up and enjoy. YUM.

i lovees ur post

in fact breakfast should be heavy than little lunch and dinner that way one maintain good health

I’ve heard that! I usually end up making dinner my biggest meal, but I imagine it probably isn’t the healthiest choice to load up my stomach before bed.

nice
pls follow me & my post comment @anisullah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51