Steemit Open Mic Week 97 - "Echo Chamber" - An Original Song by Chris Roberts

in #openmic6 years ago

I know, I know... It's been awhile. I've been busy as hell, but I just couldn't stay away from you beautiful #openmic people for long!


Today I wrote a little song just for you, called "Echo Chamber". I hope you like it!



Chorus
Echo chamber… What do you got for me?
Echo chamber… Tell me who I’m supposed to be.
Fit me in, and round me out; show me what the world’s about
Inside your wide, one-sided echo chamber.

Verse
The people in there tend to say the same shit every day
The air is thick with lessons never learned.
With no hope for escape, and every grievance on display,
They scream about the worries they have earned.
to Chorus

Verse
I wonder what the other echo chambers have to say,
There must be somewhere I can change my mind.
The people in this bubble of such cynical dismay,
Are not the friends I ever hoped to find.
to Chorus

Verse
Tell me how to shake these jackals from my road of truth,
And break that echo chamber’s iron walls;
Bring me to a mountaintop and wake the sleeping youth,
And fan the flames of freedom when it calls.
to Chorus


HERE is @luzcypher's post for this week's #openmic contest! Head over there and check out the other amazing entries in the comments.


Thanks to all the judges and supporters who make #openmic such a smashing success on Steem!




Sort:  

This is classic Chris Roberts...
Nice, brother!

Great song @chrisroberts! How do you find the words to share a message like this? There are many ways to say something, but the artist finds his own words. Break that Echo Chamber! @crimsonclad ;)

Thanks! :)
Ideas incubate in my head for a few days, then some words eventually come out. Then I just stick it over some music and pretend my poem is a song... LOL... I've shared my secret. :D

I have a lot of thoughts about echo chambers, free speech, censorship, etc. Silencing of ideas has been one of my biggest fears since I was very young. Now it's happening; this is how I cope.

Welcome back. Missed you.

Congratulations @chrisroberts! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Hahaha I'm also a super big fan of Jim Hensonm love the fraggles /sesame signature. hahah :) By the way, lots of luck with your song :). Carrie mentioned she did also one? Big hugs on your way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65265.67
ETH 3326.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63