Steemit Open Mic Week 79 - "Don't Drink and Steem" - Original Song by @chrisroberts

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Howdy, #openmic family! I've got another Steemit exclusive original this week!


I'm sure you've all noticed that social networking while intoxicated can lead you into some tight spots. With Steem, this is more true than ever.


I'll bet plenty of you have found yourself regretting tipsy posts or comments the next day. Or worse, you may have felt repercussions in the form of unfollows or downvotes. Eek.


My #OpenMic Week 79 solution: Don't Drink and Steem!


Lyrics

Don’t drink and comment, don’t drink and Steem,
Don’t drink and transfer any funds,
Though you think you’re being wise, you’ll only compromise
Your reputation score and more before you’re done.

Don’t drink and Steem, that’s my song,
No matter what you say, you’re probably gonna be wrong.
You’re bound to be regrettin’ it,
Once you’re done forgettin’ it,
I’m bettin’ it’ll all be clear before too long.

Steemin’ Stevie Ray went to the pub one day,
To have a drink and laugh with some old friends,
But he had some more than one, and before the night was done,
In chat he was atoning for his sends.

Don’t drink and Steem, that’s what I say,
You’re drunken words are never worth the price you’ll have to pay.
You thought that you were gifted when sobriety was lifted,
But it shifted by the morning anyway.

Don’t go when you’re hammered and peruse the trending page,
You’re bound to find opinions you don’t share.
Comments from a drunken fool are often less than sage,
When drinkin’ has your thinkin’ game impaired.

Don’t drink and Steem, I’ll tell you true.
Your whiskey-driven drivel’s gonna get right back to you,
If you post inebriated, you mostly will be hated,
So sleep it off my friend and get a clue.


Thanks @luzcypher, for all the hard work you're constantly putting into Steemit Open Mic. Thanks as well to the judges, who have the difficult task of listening to all the entries. HERE is the link to this week's contest post.


Wanna make your posts look amazing? Check out the ULTIMATE MARKDOWN TUTORIAL.

Courtesy of @carrieallen, my lovely wife!



Sort:  

Yeah, um...I have your song stuck in my head now lol

It's been a couple days; hopefully you've got something else stuck in your head by now. :)
Thanks!

Great fun, man... Clever as ever! Nice, Chris!

Thanks, Passion! Appreciate your support!

Wiser words have never been sung. ;) Dig it, brother. To be fair, one time I saw the legendary @stellabelle make a tipsy share after a champagne adventure, and it made a big impression on me. Every rule has it's exception, I suppose. :)

Thanks, Cabe! There are definitely occasions for which alcohol can provide wisdom. :) If I'm tipsy, though, I always lose my typing skills first.

Words of wisdom for sure :)

Love the song, gonna check out more, followed.

Hahaha.. Awesome man \m/.. Basically... Have some self control while drinking XD... I really loved your song bro.. Btw... If you have time please check out my blog and my post for openmic.. It's my first Original song \m/.. Thanks!

Supercool performance! Very nice. Love the hat too.

Thanks! I love this hat too. I wear it pretty much all the time.

Hahaha! That's funny.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

I like your music content, keep it up my brother, I wish you the best of the successes, blessings. @chrisroberts

This is so clever and fresh! Love it! 💙

Thanks! You can always count on me for satirical songs and amusing hypocrisy ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55