Steemit Open Mic Week 64 - Original Song "World Keeps Spinning" (Acoustic Rap)

in #openmic7 years ago

"World Keeps Spinning" is another of my original songs that explores the concept of "one life, one chance". I am obsessed with the idea of battling the feeling of regret, one day at a time. The chorus is almost a mantra of sorts, reminding me and the listeners that you only get one life and it is best to take advantage of your time here. Hope you guys enjoy this one and as always, thank you to @luzcypher for continuing this awesome contest!

Sort:  

you have such a great voice @chrisgoans im a fan. great work I love when you break from singing to flowin very cool

Nice one Brother! If your truck is still in the shop next week you may want to start a new tag: thebathroomchronicals

At the rate its going, it will be in the shop the rest of my life lol. So far its been 2 1/2 weeks. At least my guitar isn't in with the rest of my equipment though lol

Hopefully you'll get your wheels and your gear back soon!

Looking like today! Can't wait lol Ive been itching to record

Enjoyed this. The lyrics and the music complimented one another very well. Nice job.

Thank you very much for checking it out!

Thank you very much for checking it out!

Really liked this music, well done!!

Thanks for taking the time to check it out!

Not a rap fan, but this was pretty good

Thank you! And am I safe to assume that you're not a rap fan because of the typical subject matter within the genre? And hoping the reasom you like this is because its different? Lol cuz if so then I'm doing exactly what I hope to do! Thanks for listening!

Well, on some level yes, Rap does tend to be very materialistic subjectively, but I have heard rap that was not and still sounded like a nursery rhyme for the brain damaged put to music. I lived in Atlanta for 10 years and still remember when Soldier Boy came out with that garbage, but with this particular one it was just an all around good acoustic song with a bit of tasteful rapping in it. Rap done well is good to me, but most of the time it just isn't done very well :/
So you did a great job of it :)

I agree 100%! Too many rappers write Dr Suess style rhymes all about the same subjects. Back in the early 2000's there must have been 10,000 or more songs referencing "spinner" rims 😂

I don't think this would actually be catagorized as rap, per se, it's too melodic to be rap.

Thank upu for that! I hate labeling myself as a rapper because it automatically brings negative thoughts to mind before anyone even hears the music. I guess I am a musician who writes songs in yhe style of rap lol.

I personally wouldn't categorize it that way either.

Not necessarily so much im this example but very much in mh other songs.

Yeah, something that sells to simpletons doesn't make it art. Spinner rims are pretty much the height of materialistic nonsense.

Nice, Chris!

Thank you sir!

Love this song! Acoustics sound great too.

Thank you for checking it out! Yeah, the bathroom never fails for providing awesome acoustics... Just not the greatest backdrop for a video lol

Very nice original man. I always liked that song “big city life” which is a rap in the middle of it.

Who sings that? I will check it out!

Good to see you again.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

I need to find some consistency lol. But thank you for another welcome back! Good to be here!

Dude... this is pretty frickin awesome. Good job Chris!!!! I'm so stoked about this. You are so great with this genre. Acoustic rap! YES!

PS I am PROUD that I had the chance to play a show with you, though it was years ago. Kudos dude

Also, I have been playing in my bathroom a lot too!!!

Hahahaha all of these are awesome! Thanks for checking it out and I'm glad you enjoy it. Those few shows were so long ago, like 6 years maybe? One at some art gallery downtown and then Tipsy Turtle I think lol. Time flies...

squid-foo?? something like that?

squid foo was the deadtimes show

That sounds like its right lol.

Bathroom playing is the best lol. Reverb with no plugins 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50