Open Mic Week 63 - Original Improv Song "10, 9, 8..."

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Backup Dancer: Thing One
Percussion: Thing Two
Toe Licks: Yeti the Dog
Cinematography: @dillemma

Like most of the songs I sing for the Things One & Two, this is a structured improv. The first verse and chorus are the only set words, then I improv the rest as the spirit of the moment moves me. Thing One is a great leaper and climber and dancer and overall monkey and he is a wonderful muse for a fun and funky number like this.

Remember to visit the Open Mic Week 63 post, upvote my comment there if you love me (hey you can upvote it even if you don't!) and remember to upvote the contest post and give love to @luzcypher and @pfunk for making the contest happen and don't forget the HARDEST WORKING judges in show business! You guys rock, judges, seriously, it is a ton of work to listen to every entry every week. Thanks!

Lyrics after the jump. Much love - Carl "Steward of Gondor" Gnash

10, 9, 8...


10, 9, 8... lyrics


You can climb on the ottoman,
yeah that's how this song begins
Then you wait for the special number
Then you jump down with a thunder

10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1...
Zero GO!!!
Zero GO!!!

You can jump up and you can jump down
You can dance all around
You can jump up into the sky
you can land down on the ground

10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1...
Zero GO!!!
Zero GO!!!

Now faster!
Now faster!
You can dance in the living room
You can dance, you can zoom
You can roll around on the ground
You can jump, you can fly

10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1...
Zero GO!!!
Zero GO!!!
Zero GO!!!
Woo!

Sort:  

I’ll be seeing you on the MTV music video awards show this year, me thinks.

Oh yeah, I am really big with the tween crowd :)

LOL even the dog got involved, I love how you guys are doing Steemit as a family!

Thing One regularly asks me to say "Hello Steemit". When I am playing guitar for him he likes it if I give the Open Mic intro :)

If you two have another baby will its first words be steemit?

Oh, I can see Elvis covering this one in my twisted imagination... :-) Fun one, Carl! Your "things" seem to like it an awful lot too! :-)

Thanks @passion-ground! Yeah I bust out a little of the ole "Elvis Voice" there :)

The moon that will get you to the moon! First, I love the kind of Dad and Mom you clearly are. Second I love how in the beginning it’s dark and shadowy on the left then suddenly an acrobatic baby butt appears and he jumps bigger and bigger as your song progresses. I love this- so much. The smaller baby breaks it down when you pause and go faster. Amazing! Love them! ❤️✨⭐️Hey your voice and guitar skills impressed me too.

Aw thanks Lori! Yeah my kids are pretty cool. Thing One (of the acrobatic butt) is already a pretty impressive songwriter in his own right, he just sang a really lovely improve song about alligators and dolphins to me and Thing Two :) Thanks for visiting!

I will never forget my son's rendition of the classic row your boat song. He genuinely thought it said
" Row row row your boat gently down a stream, merrily merrily merrily merrily wipe your butt its clean." He was 4 years old at the time so it made sense. The crazy thing is that is what I hear now anytime someone sings that song.

AHHAHAHAHAH wow yes, thank you, that is obviously what that song's lyrics SHOULD be!!! - Carl

Lovely family! 😃

Thanks @pangoli! Appreciate the support :)

wooo great work my friend this was super fun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88